Need some tips

Home  \  Domestic Cars  \  Need some tips

Hi i am new to driving a manual transmission vehichle. Can you give me some tips and pointers on how to drive one? I just have no one else around to teach me. I drove one for the first time today wasent great but at least i didint stall the car at all and did not grind any gears, I think that was a pretty good start i guess. If it matters i am using a 93 mustang gt for driving the manual. Thanks!

posted by  Kris

Okay first find a parking lot on level ground. Then put the clutch in and put it into first :laughing:. Without giving the car any gas slowly let the clutch out until she starts to grab and move forward but don't let her stall. Once you've found the point of where the clutch lets out, push it back in. Then do exactly what you did the last time except give her a little gas and when she feels like shes going give her a little more and then you're off :thumbs:

posted by  99integra

Also, when you do start to be more efficent in your driving, try to find the optimal timing in your changing gears. Do not worry about the odometer. If you want to gear smoothly and quickly, always look at the tachometer. If, for example, the RPM range goes up to 7000, change the gear when it reaches 4000. Then for every time you are going to change gears, do the same thing. Also if you are downshifting, shift down when it is below 1500 RPM. Remember, these are just examples as every car requires more or less effort. Do not worry of breaking the stick shift. When you are about to shift, look at where you are going to upshift, quickly press down the clutch while shifting as fast as you can. Pretend it is the devil's tail and you want to yank it off. Hope this helps not just you, but for the people that want a few advanced pointers. If you got more pointers, please post them, I a,m always glad to learn more. :mrgreen:

posted by  xlrated

"Do not worry about the odometer." How do you know when to do an oil change?