Exhaust Help

Home  \  Domestic Cars  \  Exhaust Help

I want to get a header for my truck next, when I do get it I will upgrade the piping size at the same time, my question is, would 2.3" be a big enough upgrade or would 2.5" be the best choice. Another thing, I want to know if putting a high flow cat would improve the power any? Thanks

Also what is the best way to reduce backpressure? I have a Flowmaster 40 already installed and want to know if that is a good way to reduce it

posted by  99integra

You'd better recheck your research. You're not going to find a 2.3 or 2.5 primary header for a 2.3l anywhere. Correct info makes decision making so much easier.

posted by  vwhobo

Ahh, I should have been more specific, I meant that size for the pipes, sorry about that :ohcrap:

posted by  99integra

The answer lies with the primary and collector sizes on the header. That being said, the 2 1/4 will flow plenty for a 2.3 unless you're turning over 8k rpm and it'll be lighter than the 2 1/2.

posted by  vwhobo

Heh, the max I'll ever be turning is 5500 which is redline and sometimes I have to do it (not often) to merge onto a highway to keep up with traffic. Another thing will a higher flowing cat be a good investment or will it just be me pissing away money?

posted by  99integra

The question is higher flowing than what? A high flow cat may be a good investment, but if the current cat flows sufficiently it won't matter. If you still have the 13 (or whatever) year old OE cat, it wouldn't hurt to put on a new one as a maintenance item or get rid of it entirely.

posted by  vwhobo

You know I don't have the previous repair records because I bought it from a dealer (bad thing I know) but I assume its the OE because almost everything on the truck is OE and still in good condition. Is there any way I can test or see if the OE cat is flowing efficiently? If I was to rid of it, do you remember if they do inspections still here in Florida?

posted by  99integra