New v. Used Cadillac Escalade

Home  \  Domestic Cars  \  New v. Used Cadillac Escalade

Hello, my name is Glenn Kawesch. I am new to car-forums.com and have a general question about the Cadillac Escalade. I really like the new 2007 but I can get a 2005 for about 25K cheaper. Is there that big a difference? Seems like a big jump for 1.5 years.

Thanks in advance,

Glenn Kawesch

posted by  Glenn_Kawesch

I don't know of any specific differences between the model years, but buying an Escalade is about image for a lot of people. It's kind of a show-off vehicle for a lot of buyers, seeing as they want somehting large, shiny and NEW. Hence my reasoning as to why their resale is so low. Just a theory, but if it's true, then it makes sense to buy a used one, financially speaking.

posted by  giant016

Well, I think if they lose that much value over such a small period of time you should go for a used one, otherwise you'll be the guy with the 05 escalade who got screwed and lost 25k+ on his vehicle by selling it for 25k.

The 07s are slightly restyled, though, if that matters.

posted by  Bronxie

All the new GM suv's and trucks are starting to look more and more like f*ck ups so go with the 05 :2cents:

posted by  99integra

Those same questions were going through my head befor purchasing my Escalade. I ended up purchasing a second hand one from CAR MAX. They had the best quality, and deal.... HOPE THAT HELPS>>>>>

posted by  jwrescalade

yea... i think that the escalade quality is good, so go used. Although, the downprice 25k has to tell you something. like the quality is different, or just the syyling cost a lot. also, check your options. they might be fully loaded on the 07 and none on the 05.

Hope that i can help. =)

posted by  carwhizzkid

by the way the new one looks too much like a tahoe... the 05 is unique.......

posted by  carwhizzkid

The new one looks kinda like an edgy minivan. The '05 will definetely look a lot cooler.

posted by  smallangryneon