49 Chev resto

Home  \  Classic Cars  \  49 Chev resto

Hey folks. Just thought I'd ask a couple quick questions as I'm fairly new to the wonderful world of classic restorations and modifications. I recently bought a 1949 Chev 3/4 ton with the intent of restoring it. Just to let you know what I'm working with: At this point in time, it's 100% original, all emblems are still in tact and i can clearly see myself in the chrome front bumper :thumbs: . After 20-30 years of it sitting in the woods, i put a new battery in it, and low and behold, it still runs and drives, and all electrical still works beautifully. The only thing wrong with it is a missing tail light, 2 very small rust spots, there's one small dent on one of the rear fenders, the upholstry has been ripped up, and the brake fluid is low :laughing: . I plan on replacing most of the little things like the mirrors, cigarrette lighter, head and tail lights, upholstry, etc etc...seeing as the weather has gotten to them just enough to make them not worth restoring, when i could just spend a few bucks here and there to get new parts.

That being said, I'm completely stumped as to where i should start with this project as it is my first attempt at a full blown resto. That's where you seasoned folks come in. I plan on restoring the body and interior to their original condition(with the exception of colors and certain fabrics). However, i want to change the drivetrain and all that jazz over to something significantly more powerful and lower it...basically, make this thing a sleek classic, with a powerful modern touch. Where do I start? Thanks for any help.

posted by  49chev

Sounds like you got a pretty nice truck. :thumbs: As to your question of where to start, that all depends on how you plan to go about it……Do you have other transportation?....Do you have all the money now to get it done?.......Do you have the room, tools, knowledge to work on it?