Time to start the next project...

Home  \  Classic Cars  \  Time to start the next project...

I've been gathering parts for a project for the last 15 years. About 10 years ago, I bought the shell of a '63 Mercury Comet convertible, to build a full custom out of, based on a concept that I actually started back in '78 on my first car, a '62 Mercury Comet. But, in '99, my job moved me to baltimore from Seattle, and I couldn't bring the project with me, so it sat at my folk's house. The cost of shipping the non-running hulk to Baltimore to finish it turns out to be more than I could find a better example closer.

Well, this past week I found another one on Ebay, and this one, while rough, was complete and running. In fact, it wasn't any rougher than my Fiat was when I bought it, which means it's a better choice for the project.

There were only 13,000 of these convertibles made, and only for the second half of the '63 model year (no Comet or Falcon convertibles prior to that, and the body changed afterwards). This one has the stock 4.3 liter (260 cid) V8, a member of the 289/302/351W family.

Anyhow, now I can start working on this custom project in earnest.

Here it is now:

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/cvetters3/Comet09.JPG

and here is a sketch I did back in '97 of the intended project direction:

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/cvetters3/Comvert2.jpg

Air ride suspension, billet wheels, '61 Falcon front sheetmetal, shaved handles, custom interior, and a modded 302 for power (originally, I had a T Bird SC supercharged V6 for it, but the 302 is a better overall choice. Built like the one in my RX7, it would be going in a car that weighs less than my RX7 did...)

posted by  ChrisV

wow, very nice.. look forward to seeing some pics when it is done :thumbs:

posted by  EzMustang

WOW.. you must be really excited.. your going to have your self a new toy! congratz and goodluck!

posted by  Ki2AY