73 roadrunner

Home  \  Classic Cars  \  73 roadrunner

Hi,
im new to the muscle car scene. I was recently out looking for a car and i spotted a 73 roadrunner. The body is in decent shap but everything has been stripped. My dad and I are going to buy it and slowly build it up over a couple years. My question is; there was no motor or tranny on the car and it was a 340 to start but i want to but somthing bigger in it, is it possible to fit a 440 (off a71' GTX) on the stock mounts, or will i have to do a lot of modifications to get it fitting right? Any help would be great

Thanks

posted by  RoadRunner73

You need to find yourself a big block k-member, motor supports, and possibly move/change your trans crossmember. Good luck finding the parts in a junkyard, you'll most likely have to go the aftermarket.

posted by  vwhobo

Ok, ill see what i can do but i might just put in a 383 or another kind a crate motor cuase the scrap yard we have here is not that good, mostly for people you have ricers uggg i hate ricers but thank you for your help

cheers

posted by  RoadRunner73

A 383 is still a big block, same mods will be required.

posted by  vwhobo

ugg :x all i know is i want somthing bigger than a 340 it only has 275 (approx) hp and i want to be able to kick the sh%t out of ricers. The modifications that i need to do would require welding expertise right? And if you could tell me a couple sites or a site that might sell bigger k-members and some information that would be a big help. Is it possible though i doubt it to take the parts needed from the gtx (k-member) and somehow graft it to the fram of the 73 or is it best to find one from another 73 or buy a new one. Im fairly new at this so i might be asking really stupid questions :oops:

thx

posted by  RoadRunner73

1. Are you sure you need something bigger?

2. Maybe.

3. I could but you'll learn more researching for yourself.

4. Yes, depending on the year GTX and if it had a big block.