more HP for my 96 civic dx?

Home  \  Asian Imports  \  more HP for my 96 civic dx?

I just got a my new car, a 96 civic dx with 35000 miles on it for only 4000 dollars, can any one say CHEAP!!!!!!
Anyways, I want to add more power to the DX engine sinse its not a strong as an EX or an Si, so I was thinking of adding a turbocharger, cold air intake, and maybe lowering the car.

are there any specific brands i should get for this engine, Cause i know what i have to do. Im just not sure which parts have the best bang for my buck... And ofcourse any extra ideas on wt to mod is greately appreciated...

Greately appreciate any help!!!!! and by the way im a rookie so scream at me if you like......lol :screwy:

posted by  ckoolburn

I have a 94 Civic DX, and it is pretty hard to find a turbo for my motor, since everyone uses the VTEC and B16-B18's. Is yours the VTEC? I put a ram air intake on my car and you kind of lose a little low-end torque, hardly noticeable, and I can feel the HP gains. Not a lot, but with a wimpy motor like mine, it helps. I would recommend the AEM or Injen intakes even though I have never used them. I have a generic Ractive one, and it does its job. Good Luck.

posted by  Nickboxer7

DX = no vtec

i have a DX civic hatch... i have spoon exhaust and aem shortram... seems to work alright... for a car not even making 100ponies at the wheels, or should i say wheel... (no lsd) i did race my friend with his 93 civic hatch HX, 1.5 econo-vtec turbo, and i beat him, and hes quite the driver... , then again, im told i am, but i dont beleive it... i think i just got lucky in beating him... but anyways, back on topic...

you can always throw a vtec head on the motor... just need to get anew distributer and a vtec controller, or a vtec ecu... like an EX ecu or something

posted by  mazda6man

You should look into APEX'i Greddy Blitz and all sorts of other good stuff. Just google "Honda performance parts" or "Honda after market parts"

posted by  JDMprelude92