a newbie to driving a stick

Home  \  Asian Imports  \  a newbie to driving a stick

i'm new to driving a stick, i'm wondering whats a good way to shift on racing with a rsx premium?........or just shift to make the car accelerate faster

posted by  chibi

high rpms

posted by  ciVicman

1. You're new to driving, let alone racing. You shouldn't be taking the car above 3500 RPMs, let alone to red line. Wait for 6 months until you start pushing your car to the edge.

2. To get a bigger boost from shifting, you can do something called a non-lift throttle shift. Basically, you keep your right foot to the floor so that the RPMs don't drop, and shift. Your 0-60 time can drop by a half second, and your quarter by a full second. It wears heavily on your transmission and clutch and engine, so I don't recommend doing it.

3. I'm presuming your racing on a track, because racing on the street is going to get you nowhere but dead. Also, other's also die in your zeal for danger and adrenaline. DO NOT STREET RACE. I'm sure there's drag strip within 30 minutes of your house. Do not street race.

posted by  Godlaus

1)Engage clutch
2)Select gear
3)Release clutch
:thumbs:

posted by  fudge

4)Stall engine

No gas required :mrgreen:

He's asking about how he can catch up to another racer by shifting correctly/getting more power out fo the shift.....I think

??????????????????????

posted by  Godlaus

figure out where your power band is
it's a stupid, expensive myth that the best place to shift is at redline.
so find out where your torque peaks, and shift there.

posted by  b_DuB13

NO you should never ever shift at your torque peak! The best place to shift is your horsepower peak to get more torque on your next gear.

posted by  CarEXPERT