Rx7 motor

Home  \  Asian Imports  \  Rx7 motor

So I bought a 1984 RX7 gsl a couple days ago and I need a motor. I'm new to rotarys so I don't know what year RX7 motor I should shoot for. is it safe to turbocharge any rotary motor or should I go for a stock turbo motor?

posted by  x1/9-rally

Well, as for an engine that bolts in, the 12A from any year, or the pre-85 13B will work. the motor mounts on the engine are different for the later 13Bs or the 13B TT.

You can, however, find ways of making any of them, including the 20B, fit in that car. Any engine from a newer RX7 in good working condition will be rather expensive, and any non working engine will be expensive to rebuild. And trying to make the later fuel injection work in the earlier car is going to be a bunch of... fun.

posted by  ChrisV

Ever think of going V8? It's possible to drop a Ford 302 or Chevy LT1 in there. A lot more fun (and reliable) than a turbo rotary.

posted by  thunderbird1100

And there's a bolt in kit for it. If that route is chosen, there's a forum for it. You can get there through here: http://v8rx7.com/ (and my v8 RX7 is on that site).

posted by  ChrisV

or you can keep it rotary....dont even try to turocharge anything until you know what your doing.

go here www.rx7club.com

join. search. read. learn.

posted by  Low Impedance

Don't bother with the weenies at rx7club. Most of them simply don't know what they are doing. Serious rotards over there. Much better rotary info at teamfc3s.org (though there are a few idiots there, too).

posted by  ChrisV

the archival content is quite extensive though. i found damn near everything i needed to know. just steer clear of the lounge...

posted by  Low Impedance

Well I don't wan't to go the v8 route cause it would defeat the idea of a high reving rotory. Would a 12a out of 78 wagon fit? I'm thinking about getting it running and selling it.Is this a good idea?

posted by  x1/9-rally

into what year 7 again?

posted by  Low Impedance