98 eagle talon tsi awd is it worth it?

Home  \  Asian Imports  \  98 eagle talon tsi awd is it worth it?

im thinking about buying a 98 eagle talon tsi awd the guy claims to have some stage 1 perfomance work done and says it has around 300 hp. i know alot about hot rods and my own classic car but im just getting into import tuners and really dont know left from right. it looks great and its real quick but its an automatic. its got custom paint shaved door handles and 18" rims. i cant exactly remember what work it has done to it. he wants 6 grand im just wondering if it is a good project car or if the is something better for the price?

posted by  84gprix

Seems good but project car? Seems its all done msotly if its pushin 300hp (which i would request a dyno personally) But what would you want to do to it after that? A project car is aroudn 500-2k not a 6k car with customs body kit and 18" rims.

posted by  Pythias

from what i understand he has some stage 1 upgrades not all and there is always more to do on any car it will never be perfect. it has no spoiler no tent the interior could use some work and no system. the paint he did himself hes a painter and he mixed and sprayed it himself so there is no other car out there like it. i admit its already done up pretty nice but i think it could use some work of my own. he said that if i wanted to spend the money that i could get around 400 to 450 hp out of it at the most do you think that is true or is he blowing smoke up my ass to get me to buy it.

posted by  84gprix

Then I'd say 6k is way too much. You lookin for a project car spend 500-2k my friend bought a turbo manual eclipse pushin around 300 at the crank and needs a little bit of work for 1500 off ebay. Interior was fine system was decent.

posted by  Pythias