Can I drive without my A/C belt?

Home  \  Asian Imports  \  Can I drive without my A/C belt?

Hi! I am not a mechanic or very knowledgable on car work. If I think I have a problem with one of my components, I look in a book or on the internet. Any insight would be great!

I have a 95 Toyota Corrolla. Recently, my a/c belt broke after a piercing schreeching noise came from under the hood when I started it. I had a neighbor look at it and he said that my clutch on the compressor was not turning by hand and that my clutch had gone out and he said that my compressor might be dead as well, this is the reason that my a/c belt broke. This is going to be a big job! I've read on the internet that you need to clean out the whole a/c system and at the shop this costs ALOT (I already bought the compressor and clutch, air filler and expansion valve to do the job myself but I didn't have all the tools to do it. I called the shop and they said that labor will be 500 dollars. The parts cost me over 400 dollars). I noticed I have three belts. One is a small belt compared to the other two. The second one is a larger belt compared to the a/c belt. The a/c belt broke so I only have two belts now. My question is: Can I drive without my a/c belt, without fixing my clutch (or my compressor if that is the problem as well) if I do not use the A/C? Does the water pump or any other components run on the a/c belt?

Thank you so much for who ever knows this question.
melissa B.

posted by  melissa B.

Well difficult to say without being there, if its just the AC then there is no issue you will just have to do with being hot in the car.

You should be able to establish what does what by looking at the pulleys that the AC belt would go over and refer to your haynes (best $20 you will ever spend).

posted by  cinqyg