Help for 02 Civic Ex

Home  \  Asian Imports  \  Help for 02 Civic Ex

I'm just getting started on my car, and I'm not planning to go crazy on it anytime soon, but I just want a little bit more power right now. It's a 2-door, 02 Civic Ex, and when I got it it was already lowered, had an AEM short-ram intake, and a carbon-fiber hood. So what's next? Can anyone (that knows what they're talking about) give me a few suggestions on what I can get? I'm not looking for anything too expensive, but maybe something like headers and an exhaust? But I don't know which brands would be better for my car, and after reading DSMer's post on exhausts, I understand that the exhaust I get shouldn't be very big, since my car has low power. So could someone tell me the advantages of getting headers first or exhaust first, or if there's something else that I should get before that? Thanks.

posted by  y.e.c.

are headers and exhaust the only two upgrades you know of? headers can be effective, but you're best bet is for a trubo kit. If you have the money, buy a complete kit, new piston heads, connecting rods, and a crankshaft. Also, if you have a car with milage in the 6 digit range, don't bolt on any parts. You're gonna break stuff soon. whats your money situation?

posted by  Godlaus

The thing with turbo is that it would cost a lot more. I'm not looking to fix up my car that much right now, I just wanted a little more power. Yes, headers and exhaust are almost the only things I know. I'm just getting started, and I'm trying to learn more. Since I'll be saving up for these things by working at a part-time job, I'm not looking for anything expensive.

posted by  y.e.c.

Oh, by the way, my car just broke 50,000 miles, not nearly in the 6-digit range yet.

posted by  y.e.c.