Overdrive Auto Transmission?

Home  \  Asian Imports  \  Overdrive Auto Transmission?

Sorry, I know i'm a newbie :P So this is probably a newbie question. My new car has an overdrive button on the shifter (Automatic transmission), and i'm not sure what it's for. Could anyone give me a little crash course on how to use it and what it does? Thanks :D (It's a 98 Nissan altima btw)

posted by  ThirdeYe

I think it makes your cornering better at high speed.

posted by  CarEXPERT

ARGHHHH!!! No! No! No! That is not what it does. It lowers the gear ratio for trucks and cars. For cars, it is used to conserve gas mileage while on the freeway or open roads.

posted by  Coffin Type R

What is oversteer and understeer than Coffin? On my dads car there is a button that says sport on it, its an auto. wuts it for?

posted by  CarEXPERT

Understeer and oversteer are different and are not related to the transmission.
Before i answer this question, what does your dad drive again?

posted by  Coffin Type R

HE DRIVES A OLD ACCORD LX. THE ONE THAT KINDA LOOKS LIKE SHIT. HEY I DONT GET WUT UNDERSTEER IS AND OVERSTEER. HOW DO I AVOID IT? HELP ME COFFIN :ticking:

posted by  CarEXPERT

Okay, now to get down to business. Lets take your dads car, it is FF car. Now lets say you are going into a turn where it is recommended that you do 35 mph, but you are doing 45 mph. The car will turn, however, instead of staying along the inside line, it starts to "float" or drift to outside line. For reference, the turn is a left turn and the inside line is the center marker, and the outside line is the shoulder. This is understeer. the car is turning but not enought to stay in the inside line.