CarExpert Ram Air Advice 101

Home  \  Asian Imports  \  CarExpert Ram Air Advice 101

What are your thoughts on Ram air systems and how they work?

posted by  Wally

1. They suck
2.same as stock system
3. thanks, I am an expert.

posted by  CarEXPERT

:clap: :clap: :clap: A clap for the idiot.

posted by  GreekWarrior

A Ram air system is a form of induction commonly found in alot of domestic performance catalouges. This is a form of intake placement that introduces the intake cone or filter into directly oncoming air. Sure it all looks good on paper, the only problem is that for the RamAir to have a noticable forced induction effect on the intake of the car you would have to be traveling in excess speeds of Mach2.

If you've ever seen NASA(I think NASA?) they created an engine with no moving parts. They simply fly the engine behind a jet and once it reaches high enough mach speeds the air is moving fast enough to be compressed and fuel is added and ignited and the engine works.

RamAir hoods look cool and they might actually cool your engine off. As far as being a superior form of intake setup, I'm going to have to give it a shifty nodd. Oncoming air may be colder and more dense, but I doubt it would be any more effective than having a cold air box or simply a cold air intake.

posted by  DSMer

We talking about the scramjet? Hmm that sounds familiar. Must be some really clever people out there to get it of the launch pad wouldn't you say?

So are you articulating thoughts on the ram air or do you have some supporting reason why it doesn't work as advertised?

posted by  Wally

Not to sound like a post whore, but CarExpert you are a idiot. He asks you a question and asks you for advice, and you a self proclaimed sarcastic and not to mention idiotic sorry excuse for a "CarExpert" gives him a sorry excuse for a reply much less an insult.