Need help regarding dirtbikes.

Home  \  Motorsports  \  Need help regarding dirtbikes.

Ok, basically, im a newbie when it comes to dirtbikes. I want to get into it so I can finally be able to ride with my friends. But before i get into the racing/freestyle world, I have a few questions.

I'm 6'0, turning 17 years old soon, and weigh around 160 lb. I need to know what kind of bike I should get for a beginner that can take some damage.

Also, I heard my friends talking about 2 strokes, and 4 strokes. Whats the differance between the two?

Does a dirtbike use up gas fast or slow?

I'm sure theres more questions, but thats all I can think of for now.

posted by  xist2spire

heres a good explanation of a 2stroke (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2_stroke)

and (obviously) theyre good on fuel! very good infact!

posted by  True_Brit

if you want to ride around and go places with friends, get some kind of 125cc dirtbike, probably honda or yamaha

and if you really want a lot of power, something with a 250 or more should do

and you can put 10 bucks worth of gas in one and go for weeks

posted by  nighthawk

as you're 6ft tall, the Yamaha DT125Re (as in the name, 125cc) is an ideal bike for people taller than 5'9/6ft because of the frame height and size!!!
Click here. (http://www.yamaha-motor.co.uk/products/motorcycles/125cc/dt125re.jsp)

posted by  True_Brit

Ok, thanks for the help. I was talking to my friend today, and he said his dad was willing to sell me his Suzuki 125 for $250. It needs some work done to it, but he said his dad was going to put all the stuff back on it. I'm just wondering, should I go out and buy a new unused bike, or buy the used Suzuki for $250

Also, if I decide to go with a 125, would I still be able to keep up with my friends when riding since they ride 250's? Or is the power between a 125 and 250 a big difference?

posted by  xist2spire

maybe downhill!