Drag racers?

Home  \  Motorsports  \  Drag racers?

Any drag racers in here? By drag racers I mean at a sanctioned track. Not the street racing alot of people call drag racing.

posted by  Mykdiver

A little, but dont have a car for it at the moment. What class do you race in??

posted by  cinqyg

Pro Bracket right now, but I am looking at checking out some of the heads up classes.

posted by  Mykdiver

I have given up drag for now moved more into track racing find it more of a driving challenge, the amount of variation within strip racing is relatively low and always looking for the minor adjustment , seems to be more empasis on the driving . although im not that good at autograss its alot of fun.

Working on a new funny car racer, wont be that extreme as i need it as a street legal aswell but should be alot of fun. Its just a pannel van with a 440SP MOPAR engine and a 727 'glide midmounted in space frame chasis. Should be good for 450 -500hp and reliable enough to drive to race days.

posted by  cinqyg

Sounds good. I have been thinking of doing some Open Road Racing, like the Silver State Classic, or the Nevada Open Road Challenge.

posted by  Mykdiver

A street legal funny car? Yeah, sure, and next you'll want me to believe that Gary Scelzi drives his Stratus to the grocery store.

A what?

Newsflash! A "727" is a Mopar 3-speed automatic transmission and a "'glide" (short for Powerglide) is a GM 2-speed transmission. Which is it, it can't be both?

I think this post comes under the heading of blathering on to sound like one of the guys. :banghead:

posted by  vwhobo

FASTEST IMPREZA :fu:

Vehicle: 96 Model 2 Door Impreza

Engine:EJ25 Turbo

Power: SECRET

Best E.T: SSSHH ME TO KNOW U TO FIND OUT

Induction: Innovative T72, Custom MOOD Motorsport Intercooler

Internals: Forged pistons, billet conrods, copper head gaskets, O-Ringed head
& block, ported heads and custom camshafts

Ignition: DualMSD DIS-2's with coil pack

Exhaust: 3" Straight through