Cheapest (price wise) new car

Home  \  General Chat  \  Cheapest (price wise) new car

Hey. First off, sorry for the noobie question

Anyways, I need a car really soon and I'm just a college student. Pretty much, I just need a car that can run and is stable, nothing fancy.

So what's the cheapest NEW car out in the market now?

Any recommendation will be greatly appreciated

posted by  Dents

A location would be nice, as what's available in the UK will obviously differ alot from what's in the US! :thumbs:

posted by  Cliffy

Oh, I live America ;)

posted by  Dents

Probably be looking at a Kia...Cheap and they have a good warranty so you're covered. Don't expect to look cool though...:thumbs:

posted by  Mathew

Just curious as to why you want a new car, a slightly used car is almost as good as new, but a fraction of the price. If you are shopping on price alone, you are better off used. A 1 or 2 year old car can be gotten with low miles and a warranty for a nice price.
Either way, new or like new, you are probably looking at either Korean (any Kia or Hyundai) or Domestic [(Chevy: Avao, Cobalt), (Ford: Fusion or Focus), (Pontiac: G5 or Vibe), (Dodge: Caliber)]. Maybe a Honda Civic or Fit, or Toyota Yaris, but I found Honda and especially Toyota dealers less than willing to talk to low budget customers:2cents:

posted by  dvdrose18

dvdrose18 - I guess I'll have anxiety driving a used car...what if it breaks, etc. But the price of a used car IS appealing...
Thanks for the list :)

Mathew - yeah I saw their cheapest is 10,000. Is their quality good?

What's better, a cheap new car or a high quality used car? (in general?)

posted by  Dents

i believe kia and hyundai both come with 10 year/100,000 mile powertrain warranty when new. If you get a used one from a dealer it usually comes with the remainder of the warranty. I know the domestics are trying for similar, I believe chevy has 5 year/ 100,000 mile powertrain warranty.