Neea a lit a bit of help pls

Home  \  General Chat  \  Neea a lit a bit of help pls

I want to buy a cheap used car, maximum 1.5k with resonable miles in the us. i think that new york is a good place to do that, because of the papers that u need, but i'm a forreign student who is in the us just for the summer and i don't have a us driver licence (only the one from Romania, that is allowed for driving in the us) and neither a stable residence (i stay in a hostel). so, if anyone knows exactly the laws and can help me with infos about how can i register a car for 2 months (because i'm planning to sell it after 2 months) concerning my status, i'd really appreciate. please.. :ohcrap: thx (if u know where can i get a cheap used car i'd appreciate that adive also)

posted by  sFinxX

I don't think you'll have a problem registering a car for 2 months, but you might have problems with insuring it, I would stop into a local car insurance company and tell them your situation.

To find a cheap car, a good place to look is Craigslist.com and then search your area.

posted by  giant016

I think it would be easier to just rent long-term from any rental company. It wouldn't be very expensive, insurance wouldn't be a major issue, and it's allowed with an international license in most places. Much less of a hassle too!

posted by  Nissan_Altima

just wondering, do you have any idea how big the U.S. is? If you are going to buy a car in NY because it is cheaper, it will cost you a lot of mony in time and gas if you plan on going to Texas. keep in mind it could take you half a day to drive across NY.
I do agree with giant016 though, it could be rather difficult to get insurance without a perminant address.

posted by  dvdrose18