DVD recorders?

Home  \  Off Topic  \  DVD recorders?

Okay, two weeks in a row I've accidentally started taping "E-Ring" at hour 6 on my six hours and some change VHS tape. Meaning I taped like 20 minutes and then the video ended. :banghead: Other things about recording TV shows on VHS frustrate me. To name a few:

Poor quality

Having to change out the tape ('cos I tape stuff throughout the week and finally watch it on the weekend).

Rewind, fast forward, pause, all while trying to find the exact spot for the show I need.

Cleaning the stupid VHS head every once in a while.

I've had this VCR since I was a sophomore in college and it has served me well. However, it's seriously time for an upgrade!

Anyone have a DVD recorder, and was the upgrade truly seamless? Do they have the ones that can do everything you can with a VHS? Has anyone bought one recently, and would you mind sharing how much it cost? I've seen some on eBay for a 100 bucks and some change, but I'm a little gunshy about buying them. Too often, you get these new boxes and they need special signals to record. If a DVD recorder cannot record regular TV shows, whether it's coming in through cable or antenna, at this point I'm just not interested. Also I need to be able to set the programmer and go away just like I can do with my VCR now. I'm just scared that said DVD recorder would cost a ton of money and I cannot afford it :doh:

posted by  JaneiR36

Have you ever thought of a DVR?

posted by  99integra

GRRRRR, I only ever have problems with this forum freezing....

You wouldnt need anything special to use a DVR, just connect it to your TV and away you go.

Anyways, I would definitely recommend Pioneer as your choice, I know several people that use them and love them, and I am actually looking at buying one for my parents for christmas.

Furthermore, I would recommend one that has a built in HDD - which allows you to store tv shows before burning them off to DVD.