help a noob

Home  \  Off Topic  \  help a noob

yes i am a noob here...and this is my first post....and it may sound stupid but don't flame just help me out, i don't know much about cars i know how mostly everything works but when it comes to doing it and stuff that's where im lost...but anyways i have a 95 firebird with a v6 304 engine in it and I'm wondering what i should do to it first...like as in what would be the best to "upgrade" and such like exhaust, air filter or what...thanks to anyone who can help...thanks

posted by  zoomo

v6 304?

posted by  RichG

The first upgrade will cost you about $15. Go get yourself a repair manual, read it, and spend some time learning about your car. In the long run this is far better than mindlessly throwing parts at it and hoping they'll make it faster.

posted by  vwhobo

i would check out "ls1.com"
even though you have a v6, you can still use the SLP air box with a k&n filter.
is it auto or manual? :thumbs:

posted by  (o) (o)

yeah whats a V6 304?

posted by  SuperJew

I hope it's a fat fingered 3.4 (look at your keyboard). If not that's all the more reason to start with a manual.

posted by  vwhobo

lmao, ya that made me look real stupid, but Yes it's a 3.4 liter don't ask me how i ended up having 304...and I'm not wanting to mindlessly put parts in it, i know what i want to do to it and how to do it i just don't know my parts and brands on what to do, like i said the main things i want to do is put a new air filter and exhaust system but i wasn't sure if that would be best to put in first, or maybe something else would be better

EDIT** it's automatic

posted by  zoomo

Must be a pretty fat finger!!

posted by  BavarianWheels

Oh, okay, since you put it that way... Unfortunately what you said in the above post and in your first post pretty much contradict each other.