2001 Dodge Neon dies sporadically

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  2001 Dodge Neon dies sporadically

Hi,

I am reasonably capable of doing repairs if I know what is wrong but am not an expert by any means regarding auto-repair. I do not have anything in the way of auto diagnostic equipment. I am a computer expert and worked on cars with my Dad 35 years ago. I still do minor repairs, brakes, oil, etc. but this is way beyond my ability to diagnose.

My daughter has a 2001 Dodge Neon. It sporadically just dies while driving. It doesn't ever seem to die if you just let it sit and idle. When it dies the speedometer goes to zero but the radio, lights, and other electrical continues to work. When you try starting it the engine cranks just fine but never catches. If you turn off the ignition and wait awhile it will start and seems to run just fine. When trying to start it sometimes it will start after 2 minutes and sometimes you just keep trying and it takes 15 minutes.

We have taken it to two mechanics and they have had the problem occur but only while driving, so they can't figure out what is going on. They said there were no codes being put out.

It seems to happen when it shifts gears, it is an automatic, but it is real hard to tell if this is a symptom or related to the cause.

Does anyone have any ideas? The car is not reliable enough to use but two different mechanics have just told us "we can't find the problem".

posted by  athey

check the fuel pump and relay and fuel filter at idle the fuel demand is low also check the ignition module could be over heating and killing the ignition one last check the auto shut down relay will kill power to ignition/fuel pump and injectors

posted by  osborste

Thanks,
One of the mechanics said that the one time they got it to fail in the shop the fuel pressure was 48psi. So I think the fuel pump and fuel filter are ok.