Cleaning

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  Cleaning

Hey guys i got a 95 accord 4 cylinder. And under the hood looks like $hit. I was wondering what is the best method to clean the engine block and EVERYTHING around it. Is there a prefered spray or just some good old elbow grease and a brush. Please help I got new spark Plugs, wires, and the new Optima battery (yellow :mrgreen: ) in the mail and i dont want it contrasting that ugly grime under the hood. Thanks

posted by  Stem

I usually spray engine degreaser on it and hose it down, and you forgot to introduce yourself :evil: :laughing:

posted by  99integra

When you use engine degreaser, dont u have to collect the water and recycle it or something? Thats teh only reason I have never tried it before...way too much water to collect.

posted by  devilzfan300

I'm scared to wash the engine of my 94 Accord...last time I tried it, I fried a temperature sensor to a radiator fan and the damn thing wouldn't turn off! Cost me over $100 to fix... :ohcrap:

posted by  hondaman

This may not apply to you cause my cars old but to get the grime off my 32 year old engine i sprayed some engine degreaser on the block than removed the valve covers on it (that time dark brown/black) and i dipped them in stail gas and scrubbed to get them back to that new engine orange. It may not apply to you considering ur motors prolly a bit newer. :laughing: .

posted by  sandlercd_22

Can someone please answer this question? I was going to buy a degreaser from autozone, but I read that you need to recycle the waste....seems like a big hassle. What do you guys do?

posted by  devilzfan300

I just dump it in my yard or atleast pull the car into the yard

posted by  99integra