newbies

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  newbies

Hey vwhobo,
I've been interested in cars for quite some time, but like so many others, I have only looked at the exterior. I've recently been on a venture to learn as much as I can about the innerworkings of a car and I can think of no better way than to get it straight from somebody like you. I think that the gearhead garage is really awesome and I think it'll teach us all something.

posted by  macewielder

Welcome aboard, hope you find what you're looking for here. There's a great cross section of experience, knowledge and opinions on this forum.

posted by  vwhobo

hi im also a newbie, but im rarely online, so if i dont reply fer ages thats the reason, so yeah this place seems awesome. im currently trying to disasemble a Yamaha street bike, with little success. could use ANY advice on the matter!

posted by  Acid_burn

Well the logical first step is to decide what year (and model) bike you're working on and then get yourself a manual for it. Without that happening, you're only looking for problems.

posted by  vwhobo

yeah, this i tryed but found that the bike was too screwed up to determine what yr or make, but with much serfing of the internet, i narowed it down:
Yamaha TX 500 1977 or Yamaha XS650SG most likely the first one, but again not sure. looks somthin like this, only way more screwed up
http://www.thanc.de/Motorcycles70s/Yamaha%20TX%20500.jpg

posted by  Acid_burn

Hmmm. It should be pretty easy to tell the difference. For one the shape of the cylinder heads are completely different. Also the fact that the engine size is cast into the case assembly should be of minor help too.

posted by  vwhobo

If all else fails, use a crow bar.Thats what I did to my moped :cussing: That was real smart of me.

posted by  Vanman5001

do you know anything? its all about the Duct Tape!!!!

posted by  SuperJew

haha, what about the.....uhh.....SAFTEY PINS!!! :doh:

posted by  Satty101