Removing Badges and Patching up

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  Removing Badges and Patching up

I wanted to remove the badges from my car (mitsubishi, gli badges)

Just wandering if there is a good way to do this that doesnt damage the car

Also will it leave behind the grooves, and how would i patch it up?

Thanks...

posted by  Messenger

it'll most likely leave a couple of 1/8 to 1/4 inch holes, and a line where the durt and fading has been different for many years. you can use rubbing compound to take care of the latter, but the holes will have to be filled and painted.

posted by  carls47807

Or they could have been applied with the double sided tape or foam in which case use a paint safe solvent like "goof off" or I have heard of people using lighter fluid. Polish the area with rubbing compound or polishing compound and put on a coat of good wax.

posted by  srober32

How can i fill the holes? im very new to this so i have no idea!

And do you think just use a screw driver or sumthing similar to yank the badges out?

posted by  Messenger

Ok i have searched for key words and looked at other forums...

They seem to say to:

1) use a hair dryer to heat up the badges,
2) Use dental floss or similar to remove the badges
3) use WD40 or Goo Gone to remove adhesive
4) Wax and Polish

Does this seem to be the correct approach?
Also i have a 2001 Mitsubishi Lancer if that helps! (or makes the process any different?)

If you have any better suggestions and steps could you please post them?

THank you very much

posted by  Messenger

That should be about right. Newer cars like your Lancer generally won't have mounting holes for badges, usually, as the holes are spots for rust to form. But some cars still might. Use those steps to get the badges off (do NOT pry them off with a screwdriver, or you could gouge your paint). I fholes are left over, then we need to go into detail the proces of filling them, but you shouldn't have holes left over...

posted by  ChrisV