95 Toyota Tercel a few problems need help

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  95 Toyota Tercel a few problems need help

HI all..Im a brand nooby and I first like to say how much I love this forum so far and I likt to say hi to all. I got a 1995 toyota Tercel and got a few problemst: doesn't pass deq, alot of smokes come out in the morning, and the transmission is not switching gear correctly, and my gas doesn't kick in normally.

About the transmission, When I press on the gas, it would go but it doens't switch to second gear at the right rpm automatically, I have to let go of the gas at certain rpm and then it will switch gear. The local mech say the transmission or whatever is messed up and will charge me a fortune and Im a student and broke :mrgreen:

About the gas acceleration, say Im at a stop postion and press on the gas to go, it would hesitates first then the gas kicks in, like it's clog up or somthing or not smooth. I mean it has no instant acceleration, it would hesitates slowly then the gas would come in. It never done that, but now it does after he checked it.

About the smoke, there is a lot of smoke when I wake up in the morning and start it up, it would have a lot of smoke and I have to keep in warm up for like 15 20 minutes before it goes away. Please let me know is there anything I could do to help the problems or fix it, if not, I might have to sell my car :(

posted by  cat5

Well, if you are to ask me, the Tercel is an excellent car for the price. I had a driving instructor who had one that hit nearly 400,000 miles before any major problems.

Anyway, about the transmission, have you check the transmission fluid? Are you using the correct fluid? Believe it or not, some old cars will hesitate changing gears and that is all normal. How many miles does the car have?