96 Taurus won't Warm Re-Start

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  96 Taurus won't Warm Re-Start

Hi!

I'm new to Car Forums, and probably like most folks, I only found it when I was looking for help with a problem.

My 96 Taurus has this pain-in-the-butt starting problem:

Starts fine cold.
After driving for 15 minutes or so, and turning engine off, car won't re-start.
Everything electrical is powering on, but the engine won't crank.
After a few hours, when it cools, the car will finally start again.
The problem only occurs in spring/summer/fall. In winter, no problem.
The Fuel Pump seems to work fine.
The battery is new.

Is there anyone with a similar problem out there? Any tips? Ideas? I've had a devil of a time trying to figure out if it's an electrical problem or if there is something wrong with the starter.

Any advice would be helpful!

posted by  benbob

Hi Benbob...good of you to say hi the first time...on the next entrance to a forum, look for the appropriate greeting section. Here it is called Introduce Yourself. :thumbs: :laughing:

posted by  BavarianWheels

Hey, thanks for the tip. I just posted a little greeting over in the intros.

Thanks for the help.

posted by  benbob

I found this answer for a '95 T-bird with the same problem on a google search...it may help you...I don't know.

Check the ECT (Engine Coolant Temp) sensor. If it is measuring cold all the
time it would make the engine run rich. Just remember that there are 2 temp
sensors on the motor. There is one for the temp gauge and a separate one for
the PCM. The one for the PCM is a 2 wire unit while the temp gauge is
usually a single wire. So look for the 2 wire sensor.

That reminds me an anecdote. Have a look at this: vanilla ice-cream (http://www.plant-maintenance.com/articles/pontiac.shtml)

This happened in a Pontiac and you own a Ford, but...

posted by  karburator

Sweet!

Bav, I thought you only did diagnostics for chicks. :mrgreen:

posted by  vwhobo