91 Buick Regal Computer Problem ???

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  91 Buick Regal Computer Problem ???

Hello my name is Ken I am a newbie to this forum so I will apoligize in advance if I post something wrong. I have a 91 buick regal with a 3.8 FI w/auto a/c etc. it has 210,000 miles on it and until tonight no real trouble. Tonight however on the way home from work the car started to studder like it was misfireing. I noticed that the speedometer was below 0 (I have analog gauges), and the check engine light was blinking at no set seqence. The check engine light has been on steady for some time now but always goes off when I decelerate and comes back on when I accelerate. The last two things I noticed was as I approched my exit on the highway and let off the gas the check engine light went out as usual and the car ran fine for about 2 more minutes. Then as i accelerate from the red light it started missing again until I got home. In the driveway of my house I put the car in park and the engine would rev to about 2000 RPM. I shut the engine off and then turned the ignition on and off five times in a row hoping to rest the computer no luck. I then left the ignition on (without starting) and watched the check engine light blink what seemed to be random blinks. I started the engine and again it idled at about 2000 RPM's. I have no clue. Any help would be appreciated.

posted by  bean329

Turning the ignition key on and off 5 times will not reset a General Motors ECM

Make sure the cahrging system is working properly and the battery is holding a charge

Before clearing codes, I think it would be a good idea to know what the ECM is telling you. It isn't hard. I've done it as an shade tree car hobbiest on a 1990 Skylark I used to own and on a 1990 Buick Century which is still in the family.