98 Ford Taurus - power steering problem

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  98 Ford Taurus - power steering problem

Hi all,

I'm no car expert, so bare with me. This afternoon, my car ran out of power steering fluid somehow, because the steering wheel gets extremely tough to turn.

So I turned off the engine and refilled it with new power steering fluid where the bottle says it's recommended for Ford (my car is 98 Ford Taurus). I filled it until it's between the lines. I tried not to overfill it.

After that, I turned on the engine. However, the steering is still tough, so I suspect there was not enough fluid. I rechecked, and I see the fluid is no longer between the lines... so I added more fluid. I turned on the engine again, and still it doesn't fix it. I even waited 2 hours and still doesn't work.

Last time I checked, there was a little foaming... so I searched on the internet and it suggests 2 things:

1) power steering fluid overflown
if this is the case, how do I make it not overflown? and do you think this is the case?

2) power steering pump needs replacement/maintenance
if this is the case, then I'll have to spend a bit of money to fix it. Do you think this is the case?

Please help me out.
Reply to this thread or email me at esisad @ yahoo.com

Thank you very much!

posted by  ssalim

Well for one thing, if the level keeps going down you've got either a leak, OR when it ran down low and you refilled it, there was an air pocket left in the system which would drastically reduce the efficiency of the power steering. Could also explain the bubbling of the fluid.

posted by  KNTRDR