smell on the engine block

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  smell on the engine block

hi, im new to this forum, and i need your help :D

my car is a mitsubishi lancer, 2000 model, 1.8 litre.
the problem is this:
when i drive my car after 10 minutes or so, i can smell something burning..but its not as bad as a burning stuf...but the smell is not like the usuall smell when the engine is hot...i've been driving for almost 10 years...but i cant figure it our what is the smell and where it from...

the last time i change my brake pad is about 1 month ago..maybe more..

but, when i smell the tire, front and rear...the smell is not as strong as the smell on the engine area (basicly under the hood), which i dont think its the brake pad...or could it be?
and could it be my spark plug is worn out...that make the temperature too hot?

thanks for your help..

posted by  bhothak426

check for dead animals :laughing: .Ok, Is it making your engine hot or does it just smell real bad?

posted by  archangle

posted by  Wally

well it doesnt make the engine hot...the temp show normal...
its just a smell from somewhere under the hood...im not exactly sure..
thats why i need some help :drool:

posted by  bhothak426

what do you mean by this?
what is blowby? :D

posted by  bhothak426

Is the smell coming from the engine bay or around the tail pipe? look around and see if you can find any obvious tranny fluid, lube oil, or other fluid leaks first. Look for them @ places where they can drip on a hot manifold, exhaust pipe, catalytic converter (AKA cats), etc.

posted by  tbaxleyjr