Vibration at 40mph

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  Vibration at 40mph

Hello Guys,
I'm a newbie here and I am posting my first problem here. Please be nice to me :) I recently bought a used honda 95 accord v6 with 141k miles on it. The only problem in the car is that it vibrates a little bit when I accelerate around 40mph. Around 60mph the Vibration becomes more of a wobble. The CV joints were changed at 133k so I am not sure if that's the problem. I am not looking for a bingo answer here but just the possibilities of what could be wrong here.
Hoping to get good advice from you guys.
Thanks
HondaLover

posted by  kagarwa

First step would be to have your tires balanced.

posted by  DodgeRida67

The car has even tread on the tires. Do I need Wheel Alignment as well?

posted by  kagarwa

I can't say. I'd have to have a look at the car.

posted by  DodgeRida67

1), Are the tires in balance? Is the vibration in the steering wheel or more in the floor pan? Steering usually ='s tires in front, Floor pan is either something un-related to tires or rear tires.

2) Are the engine mounts sagging to where the axles(with cv inner and outter joints) are mis-aligned with respect to their proper angle of attack to the automatic transaxle? IE) out of phase??

3) exhaust loose or mis-routed?

4) rotors in good shape or are they mis-balanced to where they are more dense in certain areas?

There are a number of things to check......use some of these as a guidline and see what you come up with

posted by  cmeseadoin

Last night I let my friend drive it and I was sitting on the right hand side. I felt some vibration on the floor as well. So this was not just the steering wheel. I will take it to a mechanic this weekend and get it checked up. I am a little new to getting to know the internals. Anyways so does the floor vibration tells us something more about it?

posted by  kagarwa