Maintenance question about 96 Jeep

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  Maintenance question about 96 Jeep

For those of you who read my intro I am sorry to repeat myself but it may be necessary for those who have not read my intro. I am 33 years old and have never owned a car and know absolutely nothing about them. I am a school teacher with the summer off and would like to take this opportunity to learn more about cars at least about my jeep. I recently bought a 1996 Grand Cherokee 4 cylinder. In March when I went to change the oil, the guy told me that the car seems not to have had an oil change in a very long time. The engine was dirty and so on and so forth. Anyway we did an engine clean and replaced the oil. Recently I had another oil change done along with a fuel injection and something with the transmission. I now know that these things should be done according to a schedule. I would like to know what else should I do to maintain the jeep. I would like to know what a tune up is (sorry for being so ignorant) and how often should one of those be done. My jeep did not come with an owner's manual but I did buy one. I have been reading it along with other things but I would like to spend less time reading about the car and more time driving it but I would also like to have for a few years more and I totally understand cars need to be maintained. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for the long story.

posted by  vniles100