Key won't turn in ignition

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  Key won't turn in ignition

I'm in Vancouver, BC, with a Toyota Camry 1989 V6 station wagon (~180k miles). I have a degree in mechanical engineering, but my knowledge on cars can probably fit on the back of a cereal box (okay, maybe two cereal boxes). I have a small collection of hand tools and a drill, and I'm not bad at tinkering with things (I've discovered the key is to move slowly, and to give up BEFORE something breaks).

The problem is a simple mechanical one: the key won't turn in the ignition. This usually happens to me when I've cranked the steering wheel all the way over for parking on a hill (and I park on a hill at home), and the usual solution is to move the wheel slightly, and the ignition can turn after that. But this time, no matter how I move the wheel, the ignition can't turn. (the key will shift a very small amount, enough so I can't pull the key straight out, but it won't go past that.) I poked around at the steering column for a bit, removing all the plastic bits, but the only thing I discovered is that I don't know enough about steering columns.

So how can I disengage the steering lock, or otherwise find some way to turn the key?

posted by  PotatoEngineer

Oh...you've really gotten yourself into a pickle!

I've had a similar problem and the only thing that saved me was what is commonly called, "The Steering Wheel Jiggle"...and you seem to know that one.

I don't know any other solution...sorry. :banghead:

posted by  BavarianWheels

One BCAA visit later...... still no fix. But at least my key isn't stuck anymore. Looks like it's time to replace the ignition.

If you can't get it to free up with moving the steering wheel and then trying to turn the key then you may have jamed something. The other option is that your key barrel is shot. Either way, it's time to tear apart (figuratively speaking) the steering column and see what's hanging up.