Car just stops

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  Car just stops

Hey,

My daughter was on her way back to college today and her car just stopped. It's old, 1987 Oldsmobile Toronado. It runs great - no noises, looks good and drives good. She was about 40 miles away from home and it just died while she was driving. All power was gone. So her boyfriend came over and we went to go get her. We thought it must be the battery so after a trip to Walmart we installed a new battery. It cranked right up without hesitation. So he got in it with her and we continued to drive towards her school. It went around twenty miles and did the same thing. Frustrated we just left it and dropped her off. On the way back (after about an hour) we went back to it and again it cranked right up, went around 30 miles and just quit. Anybody know or have any idea what would make a car do this? Any help is appreciated.

Thank you

Valerie

posted by  valgail

Hi Valerie

I'm not an expert, but I would guess on the alternator. Especially if your battery is completely dead after a few miles.

Didlidi

posted by  Didlidi

Yah i was thinking it was that to, but i didnt wanna reccommend it after the other incident wit the 3.4L olds lol

posted by  speedy266

Not a lot of information here. People are leaning toward the alternator but you say that you let the car sit and it will start up again and you can drive it. That sounds to me like the battery is still charged (it doesn't just charge itself and you have not mentioned that you were charging it).

When you say all power is gone, what do you mean? All electrical power is gone? The car just does not run (no horsepower) but electrical stuff works? What is the temperature gauge doing before the car shuts down?

posted by  theman352001