Engine trouble: misfiring, shaking

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  Engine trouble: misfiring, shaking

This is my first time here. I joined up because I'm having some engine trouble in my 96 Honda Accord. Just hoping someone could help me out. The engine sometimes misfires or jumps forward randomly or pulls back while I'm driving.

Last week I decided to replace the spark plugs. Before then, when the engine was idle or stopped at a stoplight, sometimes it would shake (not rough shaking, just like high-idle kind of thing).

I decided to replace the air filter and when I did, that seemed to help increase engine power. But the shaking of the engine continued, so I decided to replace the spark plugs. It is a 4 cylinder engine.

When I pulled the ignition things that plug into the spark plugs out, the 2 and 3 ones had some oil on them. I took an air gun and made sure to blow all the oil out of the cylinder tubes as well as made sure that spark plug igniter tubes were free of oil.

Initially, the engine seemed to run smoother. However, after about two days, sometimes the engine would shake more violently and harder randomly while I was at a stoplight. It would be random...like smooth, and then a pop, and then smooth, and then pop pop, and so on. (note the engine didnt make any unusual noises, by pop i mean it shook or misfired or whatever it does [im sort of new]).

It just seemed to get worse and then it got to the point where I was really worried about driving it because it kept shaking more and more and I didn't want to damage the engine.