Learning

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  Learning

Hello,
I am a 13 year old and am interested in auto mechanics. I know a little about cars(probably more then most people my age). I would appreciate it if anybody could help point me in the right direction. Any websites or books for people my age?(so i can understand it) Thanks for all the help.
-kaz

posted by  kaz_

howstuffworks.com

has a whole section on automotive related items, would be a good idea to know how most of the components on a car work before getting into the deep stuff.

posted by  speedy266

I'm confused about rpm, torque, and horsepower, and how they all compare. The horsepower curve really confused me. Can someone try to help me understand this?

posted by  kaz_

Well im not really an expert on Hp, Torqe and rpm's but heres what i know, HP is the Power in how many horeses it would take to get the same affect, RPM's are the rotiations per min of the cam shaft (not the tires) and Tourqe is how much the egine is able to put down the drive shaft, through the tires and onto the ground.. (if anyof this is wrong then let me know)

83camaro

posted by  83camaro

yea ok, i got that, but...i got sooo many questions. OK..

-what's the difference between horsepower and torque? and how do rpms affect them?

-From my understanding, with a manual trasmission car you turn the car on(it will be in park), then you disengage the clutch switch to 1st gear, (at this point the car is running at a certain rpm right?) so you engage the clutch and the car starts moving, slowly? If im wrong can you please explain it to me (the clutch). I searched google but it's just really confusing.

OK, so maybe not a lot of questions but some time consuming ones.

posted by  kaz_