When AC is on and idle drops really low, too low

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  When AC is on and idle drops really low, too low

I'm doing this for a friend so work with me

Alright when my friend turns the AC on in his '95 Probe(non-GT) the idle will drop soo low the car starts to shake really bad and the engine almost dies. Now i've reset the idle and still nothing. What is the problem? Thanks in advance.

shane

posted by  kidrcth

Most likely a bad, sticking or clogged IAC. The good news is now you've made the problem worse. The screw you turned is only a throttle stop, NOT for adjusting idle speed. So when you do fix the problem now the PCM will be confused as to why the TPS says the throttle is partially open. I just love it when people work on things they don't know about.

posted by  vwhobo

well thanks, now if i'm a newbie to engines and such, where would the IAC be? And for one thing that might be the problem, the guy that he got the car from said it has previously been driven into a body of water, sooo that might have done it correct?

and if i want to put the idle back how would i do that?

posted by  kidrcth

If you're a "newbie to engines and such" you shouldn't be turning screws unless you know what you're adjusting and why. The first step is to get yourself a good manual, read it, look at the pictures and follow the directions.

Now before you waste my time calling me an asshole or whatever the simple fact is a modern car is a very complex machine with many complex systems. Nobody should be taking shots in the dark and adjusting this or replacing that without the required knowledge. Start at the beginning and work from there.

To answer your questions maybe and the manual will tell you.

posted by  vwhobo