99 Chevy Prizm (aka Corolla) oil loss/ "air" sound

Home  \  Repairs & Maintenance  \  99 Chevy Prizm (aka Corolla) oil loss/ "air" sound

I am a pretty novice car guy and wanted some help:

Got a 99 Prizm. 95k miles. Manual trans. Never pampered.

Bought at 65k. Great car. Never lost any oil even driving cross-country. Continued to change oil every 3000k. Suddenly at 85k started loosing oil (1 qt./ 1000 mi.) and fouling PCV valves and plugs on one cylinder(blow-by?). Low compression on one cylinder. Used 5W oil then switched to 10w-40- no improvement. Valves? Any recommendation as far as an oil additive?

Related or not? When the car is warm, there is a loud muffler like sound coming from the top (left) of the engine. Sounds like a hollow air sound (kinda like an old Subaru muffler) coming from near the air cleaner (or lower). Gets worse when it snows or rains. Louder more airy sound and when wet affects performance. When its wet you put gas down and the car does not go. But once the car sits, it seems to dry out real fast. When dry, there is only a slight performance drop but just the sound bothers me. When the car is cold, it is perfect - no sound & good performance. Problem seemed to start gradually around the time of the oil issues.

Checked the spark plug wires look fine 1 yr. old. Tried removing the air cleaner and running like that and replacing the filter. No change.

Seems like you can see smoke in the headlights at night when backing up. Not sure.

Good mechanic checked it out and said the whole muffler was fine.

It seemed better after an oil change, but maybe this is my imagination? Could this be an oil sludge issue?

Thanks very much...

posted by  AkivaF