Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Vehicle Specific > Domestic Cars
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2006, 04:58 AM   #1
2001cavalier
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
Cavalier - Power locks

Hey, I want to put power locks and keyless entry on my cavalier. Any advice onto which company/model of stuff I should get to rig this up...
-Thanks!
2001cavalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 06:53 AM   #2
windsonian
Dodger65's weirdo
 
windsonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Down Below
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2001cavalier
Hey, I want to put power locks and keyless entry on my cavalier. Any advice onto which company/model of stuff I should get to rig this up...
-Thanks!
they all seem pretty similar to me... although these integrated remote/locking units seem quite popular these days. I did one using a central locking kit, then adding a remote kit to it. The brand was Steel Mate if that's of any interest. It works fine.
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
windsonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 03:21 PM   #3
2001cavalier
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
Thanks for the reply! I think I am going to get seperate units because I found a keyless entry system I like, but it doesn't come included with the actual locks. Here is the style of lock I have
How difficult will it be to install them in all 4 doors?
-Thanks!
2001cavalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 11:10 PM   #4
windsonian
Dodger65's weirdo
 
windsonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Down Below
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2001cavalier
Thanks for the reply! I think I am going to get seperate units because I found a keyless entry system I like, but it doesn't come included with the actual locks. Here is the style of lock I have
How difficult will it be to install them in all 4 doors?
-Thanks!
aah, ok, the ones i did had vertical actuators which made it nice and easy. It all depends on the rods inside the door, and how easy it is to mount the motors in the same plane as them. You'll see what I mean when you take the inner panel off the door. For the back doors, are there speakers or anything in them? what I'm getting at is that if there are already cables going to to the door, then there'll already be a cable transfer hinge (ie the flexi-pipe that connects the door to the frame to take the cables). If not, you may have to buy some.
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
windsonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 12:23 AM   #5
2001cavalier
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
No, That back doors don't have speakers. I'll try to find a pic. of the inside of the door (cause I don't want to take the pannel off *yet* untill i'm sure i'm getting the locks, haha -lol- cause I am pretty sure I'd mess something up.
2001cavalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 12:34 AM   #6
2001cavalier
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
Here it is:
2001cavalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 05:46 AM   #7
windsonian
Dodger65's weirdo
 
windsonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Down Below
Posts: 2,081
wow, that's some grainy picture

bit hard to really tell anything from that...
see the two white lines going left to right (and slightly up)? looks to me like you need to strap the central locking motor's output arm to the top one of those. finding the ideal place to mount it is the next key. Unless the door is designed for it, it's very hard to tell from the picture. You'd have to get the motor and and open the door to have a play around with mounting arrangements.

So with the back doors, there's no cable transfer device?
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
windsonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 03:35 PM   #8
2001cavalier
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
Sorry bout the pic. its from a repair manual. So in the back there isn't a wire transfer tube thing, but I looked it over and the spot in the frame and the door has the spots drilled out already with a cap over them so I would just have to take the caps off and replace them with the tube.
2001cavalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 06:31 PM   #9
2001cavalier
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 18
woops sorry, Wrong forum
2001cavalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 11:01 PM   #10
windsonian
Dodger65's weirdo
 
windsonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Down Below
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2001cavalier
Sorry bout the pic. its from a repair manual. So in the back there isn't a wire transfer tube thing, but I looked it over and the spot in the frame and the door has the spots drilled out already with a cap over them so I would just have to take the caps off and replace them with the tube.
correct....
__________________
You can only be young once. But you can always be immature.
windsonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.