Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > Off Topic
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2007, 08:39 PM   #1
vwhobo
CF's Anal Orifice
 
vwhobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redneck Hell
Posts: 8,630
Tick tock, tick tock

Can anyone explain to me why the forum time is faster than real time? It's been a few minutes off for a while but now it seems to be 12 or so minutes fast. Please explain to a computer dummy how this happens. Thanks.
__________________
Thanks for the pic, jedimario.

"Everybody believes in something and everybody, by virtue of the fact that they believe in something, use that something to support their own existence."
Frank Vincent Zappa, 1940-1993

vwhobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:11 AM   #2
Cliffy
CF Loafer
 
Cliffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NE Hampshire, England, UK
Posts: 8,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwhobo
Can anyone explain to me why the forum time is faster than real time? It's been a few minutes off for a while but now it seems to be 12 or so minutes fast. Please explain to a computer dummy how this happens. Thanks.
I assume you are referring to the time at the top left of the screen where it says "You last visited"? I can't see another time, and that time appears to update whenever I logout and then log back in again...I think....

Edit: Call me stupid now, lol. I can now see what you mean. It's the same for me too (looking under new posts etc). I really can't explain why.
__________________


Please click here for the rules prior to posting, and here to introduce yourself!

Artwork courtesy of Gregg, aka Voda48
Cliffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:18 AM   #3
vwhobo
CF's Anal Orifice
 
vwhobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redneck Hell
Posts: 8,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy
I assume you are referring to the time at the top left of the screen where it says "You last visited"? I can't see another time, and that time appears to update whenever I logout and then log back in again...I think....

Edit: Call me stupid now, lol. I can now see what you mean. It's the same for me too (looking under new posts etc). I really can't explain why.
Okay, you're stupid now.

So if you can't answer the first question, then tell me this. Why is it that a 16 ounce can of charcoal lighter fluid is made so you can only get 15.5 ounces of fluid out of it without punching a hole in the can? Enquiring minds want to know.
__________________
Thanks for the pic, jedimario.

"Everybody believes in something and everybody, by virtue of the fact that they believe in something, use that something to support their own existence."
Frank Vincent Zappa, 1940-1993

vwhobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:32 AM   #4
chris_knows
๑۩۞
 
chris_knows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada Status:Trying to find my ish
Posts: 7,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwhobo
Okay, you're stupid now.

So if you can't answer the first question, then tell me this. Why is it that a 16 ounce can of charcoal lighter fluid is made so you can only get 15.5 ounces of fluid out of it without punching a hole in the can? Enquiring minds want to know.
I'm gonna say they want you to punch a hole in it so you can drink it faster

About the clock. Virtually no clock can keep exact time and over time (every 6 months or so) it has to be adjusted. I think this one's off because UFF has to update the time, and over the amount of time that he hasn't, it's been creeping off.
__________________
chris_knows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 12:39 AM   #5
Cliffy
CF Loafer
 
Cliffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NE Hampshire, England, UK
Posts: 8,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_knows
I'm gonna say they want you to punch a hole in it so you can drink it faster

About the clock. Virtually no clock can keep exact time and over time (every 6 months or so) it has to be adjusted. I think this one's off because UFF has to update the time, and over the amount of time that he hasn't, it's been creeping off.
My watch can keep perfect time....Apparently it uses GPS to keep it that way (the company supplied it so all the trains run on time, lol). I always assumed CFs time was the same system like what's on the PC screen (always right time and puts itself back and forward as is necessary). I know CF's clock adjusts to daylight savings etc, so I also assumed the 'minutes' would correct themselves too?
__________________


Please click here for the rules prior to posting, and here to introduce yourself!

Artwork courtesy of Gregg, aka Voda48
Cliffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 02:13 AM   #6
chris_knows
๑۩۞
 
chris_knows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada Status:Trying to find my ish
Posts: 7,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy
My watch can keep perfect time....Apparently it uses GPS to keep it that way (the company supplied it so all the trains run on time, lol). I always assumed CFs time was the same system like what's on the PC screen (always right time and puts itself back and forward as is necessary). I know CF's clock adjusts to daylight savings etc, so I also assumed the 'minutes' would correct themselves too?
Computers update their time from a website daily. I don't know if CF does though. So do your trains always run on time? lol
__________________
chris_knows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 02:16 AM   #7
Cliffy
CF Loafer
 
Cliffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NE Hampshire, England, UK
Posts: 8,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_knows
Computers update their time from a website daily. I don't know if CF does though. So do your trains always run on time? lol
I always though a computer's time was kept in a much more complicated way, lol. And no, our trains don't always run on time....well, they're on time about 94.8% of the time which aint bad, lol.
__________________


Please click here for the rules prior to posting, and here to introduce yourself!

Artwork courtesy of Gregg, aka Voda48
Cliffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 02:24 AM   #8
chris_knows
๑۩۞
 
chris_knows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada Status:Trying to find my ish
Posts: 7,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy
I always thought a computer's time was kept in a much more complicated way, lol. And no, our trains don't always run on time....well, they're on time about 94.8% of the time which ain't bad, lol.
Mussolini was able to make the trains in Italy run on time...What's he been up to lately?
__________________
chris_knows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 05:01 AM   #9
Bubba
null
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 482
The time you see on the forums is based off the server's time clock. If it's a windows based server, it will usually attempt to update the time once a week (though, not always successfully). On linux based servers, that option isn't generally enabled by default and time is set manually. Or it could be set manually (windows/linux) and Adam hasn't checked the server's time in a while. I think he said he ran it all at his house at one point. My own server seems to lose time frequently, but its running older hardware..
__________________
Bubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 11:49 AM   #10
GreekWarrior
CF Extraordinaire
 
GreekWarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: "Down-under"
Posts: 2,369
someone forgot to turn the flux capacitor on.
__________________

GreekWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 07:17 PM   #11
67Coronet383
CF Riff Master
 
67Coronet383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Under a hood, Georgia
Posts: 628
The time displayed comes directly from the server's time that the PHP's parser runs through. So, if the time is off, it's the server's fault.
__________________
67Coronet383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 10:15 PM   #12
vwhobo
CF's Anal Orifice
 
vwhobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redneck Hell
Posts: 8,630
Thank you for the replies. You've pretty much confirmed what I expected. I guess I just don't understand why my PC can have the time update daily (hourly if I want) but what I assume to be a big, expensive, high tech server doesn't. It seems so simple there shouldn't be any reason not to.

Thanks again.
__________________
Thanks for the pic, jedimario.

"Everybody believes in something and everybody, by virtue of the fact that they believe in something, use that something to support their own existence."
Frank Vincent Zappa, 1940-1993

vwhobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 10:28 PM   #13
chris_knows
๑۩۞
 
chris_knows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada Status:Trying to find my ish
Posts: 7,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubba
The time you see on the forums is based off the server's time clock. If it's a windows based server, it will usually attempt to update the time once a week (though, not always successfully). On linux based servers, that option isn't generally enabled by default and time is set manually. Or it could be set manually (windows/linux) and Adam hasn't checked the server's time in a while. I think he said he ran it all at his house at one point. My own server seems to lose time frequently, but its running older hardware..
I believe CF is run on an Apache server...Does that update it's time?
__________________
chris_knows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 10:38 PM   #14
Enthusiast
VTEC LOL
 
Enthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,106
I have an old school watch my dad gave me and It hasnt been adjusted in a long time, I dont ever use it so I dont change it even for dail light savings time. It is off exactly one hour from what my comp and phone say, Im guessing its because of time change.

Ill have to see what kind it is, when I get home.
__________________
Enthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 06:47 PM   #15
Bubba
null
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_knows
I believe CF is run on an Apache server...Does that update it's time?

Apache is the server software. It runs on multiple platforms, so it just depends on what its running on, windows, linux, etc.
__________________
Bubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.