Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2005, 04:22 AM   #1
Anohaakten
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
Help with my car battery

Hey guys, I was wondering if you could tell me what to do in a situation like this. Ok, so I got subs, and my amp is 460 watts (incase you wanted to know). Anyways, I notice my battery is totally messing up. When I start my car up, the battery needle is almost all the way to the right, (a smidge past the 3/4th line). Then when my subs hit it drains some, but when I go to hit my brakes, it drains a TON and my my interior lights start to dim, and so do my headlights and my battery drains almost to 1/4th. My friend hooked it up for me and it is hooked up correctly. It is hooked up directly to the battery, I heard you can also hook it up to the fuse next to the battery? or the fuses in your car? will this help me in my situation at all? Thanks guys, I knew I could come to you

Also, I was thinking of getting an extra battery for my car, just because of this problem, I want the cheapest option, but I dont want to have problems, so I thinking of getting a Optima Red Top battery? My friend said this def. would do the trick to my situation...I was just wondering what you guys thought...? But another question is, would I run a wire from my current battery to the red top or "extra battery" to get it working? then just hook my amp up to that battery?

Thanks again guys, and sorry for such a long post

~Anohaakten

Last edited by Anohaakten : 12-23-2005 at 04:25 AM.
Anohaakten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2005, 05:50 AM   #2
chris_knows
๑۩۞
 
chris_knows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada Status:Trying to find my ish
Posts: 7,630
I don't think setting up 2 batteries to wouldn't be what you want to do...setting them in parallel wouldn't be bad, but this is (I'm almost positive) from your alternator...

What kind of car is this, and is it automatic or standard transmissio?
__________________
chris_knows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 12:22 PM   #3
Stem
HAHA Im Stem!
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 637
ok i have some ideas here, check your alternator and battery, make sure their working together, and also its fairly common to have your lights dim when ur really subbing it, i have 1 12 and i get some dimming when i really push it. you might want to buy a capacitor, get em at walmart for about 80 bucks, they should stop the dimming. but make sure everything is hooked up right, make sure your power cable aint hitting anything else, and your ground cable could be messed up... but i cant realy think of anything of why when u hit ur breaks it messes up,

edit: go for a yellow top, and also what kind of amp and subs do you have, might help me understand the situation a bit better...
Stem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 05:34 PM   #4
chris_knows
๑۩۞
 
chris_knows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada Status:Trying to find my ish
Posts: 7,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stem
ok i have some ideas here, check your alternator and battery, make sure their working together, and also its fairly common to have your lights dim when ur really subbing it, i have 1 12 and i get some dimming when i really push it. you might want to buy a capacitor, get em at walmart for about 80 bucks, they should stop the dimming. but make sure everything is hooked up right, make sure your power cable aint hitting anything else, and your ground cable could be messed up... but i cant realy think of anything of why when u hit ur breaks it messes up,

edit: go for a yellow top, and also what kind of amp and subs do you have, might help me understand the situation a bit better...


I believe that when he stops, the RPM would drop, and hence turn the alternator less, and the battery would have to provide more power to the electrical system...so I think adding a second alternator would help.

A capacitor is just for one or two songs, where there's a loud spot in the song...how would that help?
__________________
chris_knows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 05:35 PM   #5
Anohaakten
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 23
It is a 1994 Grand AM GT, Automatic, uh, I have a 460 watt amp, pushing 2 12's
Anohaakten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 05:48 PM   #6
windman
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 214
add a second alternator?
lmao thats a good one
windman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 06:01 PM   #7
vwhobo
CF's Anal Orifice
 
vwhobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redneck Hell
Posts: 8,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by windman
add a second alternator?
lmao thats a good one
What rock have you been living under for the last several years. Adding extra alternators is becoming fairly common, mostly one vehicles with substantial aftermarket ICE. I've personally done a few and my shops have done several. A few weeks ago I saw a fullsized '90ish Bronco with 14 alternators, yes fourteen. A bit of overkill, but that's how it was done.
__________________
Thanks for the pic, jedimario.

"Everybody believes in something and everybody, by virtue of the fact that they believe in something, use that something to support their own existence."
Frank Vincent Zappa, 1940-1993

vwhobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 06:06 PM   #8
windman
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 214
it may very well be
but to run an amp?
and in a grand am?
where will he put it?
wouldnt a higher output amp be more realistic?
i never claimed to be the most up to date
but i think a second alt to run an amp is a bit overkill too
14 alternators what was he running?
that xmas house lights?
windman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 06:28 PM   #9
chris_knows
๑۩۞
 
chris_knows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada Status:Trying to find my ish
Posts: 7,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anohaakten
It is a 1994 Grand AM GT, Automatic, uh, I have a 460 watt amp, pushing 2 12's

Pressing the gas pedal while stopped should keep your power up...or a new (better) battery
__________________
chris_knows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 06:30 PM   #10
vwhobo
CF's Anal Orifice
 
vwhobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redneck Hell
Posts: 8,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by windman
it may very well be
but to run an amp?
and in a grand am?
where will he put it?
wouldnt a higher output amp be more realistic?
i never claimed to be the most up to date
but i think a second alt to run an amp is a bit overkill too
14 alternators what was he running?
that xmas house lights?
It's a stereo comp vehicle that puts out enough noise to crumble to Hoover Dam.

__________________
Thanks for the pic, jedimario.

"Everybody believes in something and everybody, by virtue of the fact that they believe in something, use that something to support their own existence."
Frank Vincent Zappa, 1940-1993

vwhobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 06:50 PM   #11
chris_knows
๑۩۞
 
chris_knows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada Status:Trying to find my ish
Posts: 7,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwhobo
It's a stereo comp vehicle that puts out enough noise to crumble to Hoover Dam.


I couldn't help but notice the "HAZARDOUS AREA KEEP OUT" sign

If it needs that much power, you could probably hear it at my house from Redneck Hell
__________________
chris_knows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 11:55 PM   #12
Stem
HAHA Im Stem!
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 637
capacitor would get rid of the dimming when he really hits it
Stem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2005, 11:56 PM   #13
Stem
HAHA Im Stem!
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anohaakten
It is a 1994 Grand AM GT, Automatic, uh, I have a 460 watt amp, pushing 2 12's

yes i know that, would u mind specifying?
Stem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 01:38 AM   #14
chris_knows
๑۩۞
 
chris_knows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada Status:Trying to find my ish
Posts: 7,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stem
capacitor would get rid of the dimming when he really hits it

When he hits it for about a second...just a spike on the power load...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dictionary.com
An electric circuit element used to store charge temporarily, consisting in general of two metallic plates separated and insulated from each other by a dielectric.

Unless there's capacitors that store power for a longer period of time...
__________________
chris_knows is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.