Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2006, 12:17 AM   #1
Vegastar
CF Newbie
 
Vegastar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
rx7 and 350 motor

i was wondering if i could fit an 350 in and 87 rx7 and is the body on rx7 metal, i was wondering for rust reasons if it would have any?

Last edited by Vegastar : 04-07-2006 at 12:45 AM.
Vegastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 01:35 AM   #2
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegastar
i was wondering if i could fit an 350 in and 87 rx7 and is the body on rx7 metal, i was wondering for rust reasons if it would have any?

I would put a junkyard Ford 302 in there, from what I understand it's slightly easier to work on.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 01:56 AM   #3
Zalight
Who's house? Runs house.
 
Zalight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 2,264
Screw it put in an LS1 and then you'll nevAr lose.

Seriously though, the common choice for swaps into an RX7 is the ls1 or the 302.

302=cheap and easy
ls1= badass.
__________________
1999 BMW ///M3
Zalight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 02:21 AM   #4
moostang104314
the guy you wish you were
 
moostang104314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 532
yeah, i've heard a lot about V8 conversions on RX-7's. pretty interesting idea i think, although you do lose the uniqueness of having a rotary under the hood. even if you look on ebay motors, there are quite a few V8 FD's.
__________________
moostang104314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 03:27 AM   #5
vwhobo
CF's Anal Orifice
 
vwhobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redneck Hell
Posts: 8,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbird1100
I would put a junkyard Ford 302 in there, from what I understand it's slightly easier to work on.
Not easier to work on, easier to fit. The Chevy has a rear mount distributor, the Ford a front mount. Don't have to worry about firewall clearance.
__________________
Thanks for the pic, jedimario.

"Everybody believes in something and everybody, by virtue of the fact that they believe in something, use that something to support their own existence."
Frank Vincent Zappa, 1940-1993

vwhobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 01:37 PM   #6
Vegastar
CF Newbie
 
Vegastar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
so i would have lots of clearence and that wouldnt be a problem in even a 96
Vegastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 02:01 PM   #7
vwhobo
CF's Anal Orifice
 
vwhobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redneck Hell
Posts: 8,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegastar
so i would have lots of clearence and that wouldnt be a problem in even a 96
I don't recall seeing in this thread the words "lot's of clearance". Besides, you'd be wasting your time and going against your convictions. The RX7 is one of those shitty jap cars.
__________________
Thanks for the pic, jedimario.

"Everybody believes in something and everybody, by virtue of the fact that they believe in something, use that something to support their own existence."
Frank Vincent Zappa, 1940-1993

vwhobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 05:50 PM   #8
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwhobo
Not easier to work on, easier to fit. The Chevy has a rear mount distributor, the Ford a front mount. Don't have to worry about firewall clearance.

That's it was, I knew it had something to do with distributor placement. MY friend was explaining it to me with his 1st gen 302 RX7. Apparently I did not pay attention. I was just pretty much in amazement with the car.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 11:38 PM   #9
Vegastar
CF Newbie
 
Vegastar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
well i have an lt1 motor sitting here that is in great shape and i think if i decied on the car i will put that motor in.
Vegastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 08:33 AM   #10
13b_turbz27
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
why put a v8 in there. work the rotary and get it to have the power potential of a v8. 13b 4mill apex seals,bridge port, balance the rotors, keep the stock turbo if it has one. and high flow it or get one of a serese 5 rx7 keep the top mount. coz the frount mount will stop the air getn to the engine u dont want tha happning 2 a rotary. or if u dont like rotaryz stik a sr20 in it thats a difrnt story. sorry bout the spelling.lol
13b_turbz27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 11:35 AM   #11
fudge
let's fighting love
 
fudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by vwhobo
The RX7 is one of those shitty jap cars.

Combatting ignorance, one post at a time.
__________________
fudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2006, 01:21 PM   #12
ChrisV
The Big Meaney
 
ChrisV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: People's Republic of Maryland
Posts: 3,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by 13b_turbz27
why put a v8 in there. work the rotary and get it to have the power potential of a v8. 13b 4mill apex seals,bridge port, balance the rotors, keep the stock turbo if it has one. and high flow it or get one of a serese 5 rx7 keep the top mount. coz the frount mount will stop the air getn to the engine u dont want tha happning 2 a rotary. or if u dont like rotaryz stik a sr20 in it thats a difrnt story. sorry bout the spelling.lol

Your spelling is about as good as your logic.

Sorry, the rotary in the stock RX7 is barely reliable, and if you try to get real power out of it, it costs vastly mroe AND is very unreliable. If YOU want a rotary, stick with it, but, after owning and racing a handful of rotary powered cars, I prefer my V8 powered RX7. More powere, more torque, vastly lower cost for the same power output.



http://mywebpages.comcast.net/adesso/rex3.wmv
__________________
I'm not mean. You're just a wuss.



www.midatlantic7s.com
ChrisV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 12:16 AM   #13
True_Brit
Has a new job!
 
True_Brit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Falmouth, Backward County, UK
Posts: 2,432
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisV
Your spelling is about as good as your logic.

Sorry, the rotary in the stock RX7 is barely reliable, and if you try to get real power out of it, it costs vastly mroe AND is very unreliable. If YOU want a rotary, stick with it, but, after owning and racing a handful of rotary powered cars, I prefer my V8 powered RX7. More powere, more torque, vastly lower cost for the same power output.



http://mywebpages.comcast.net/adesso/rex3.wmv
and better sound no doubt???
__________________

www.myspace.com/jhn123
Quote:
Originally Posted by BanffAutoSpa_ap
........Greek warrior cant reply because hes probably beating it like it owes him money.
True_Brit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.