Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > Off Topic
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-25-2005, 10:46 PM   #1
GonnaDie4TheGov
CF's Only Jersey Boy
 
GonnaDie4TheGov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 619
Calling all owers of ipods!

Does anyone know how to listen to music off your ipod directly onto your computer without having to copy it onto the computer? I just got a new laptop and i don't want to junk it up with all my music so ill carry my ipod around but what if i want to hook my ipod up to my computer and listen to the music? Does anyone know where in itunes to enable that or another program?
__________________

2001 Honda K-1 Accord Attack
GonnaDie4TheGov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2005, 11:21 PM   #2
chris_knows
๑۩۞
 
chris_knows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada Status:Trying to find my ish
Posts: 7,630
Just plugged my iPod in to see if I can play music without uploading it to my computer, and it seems to work...When you plug it in, just go to the iPod tab that pops up on the left, and go through them like that
__________________
chris_knows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 12:55 AM   #3
torinoman80
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_knows
Just plugged my iPod in to see if I can play music without uploading it to my computer, and it seems to work...When you plug it in, just go to the iPod tab that pops up on the left, and go through them like that
You sir are correct.
torinoman80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 02:17 AM   #4
GonnaDie4TheGov
CF's Only Jersey Boy
 
GonnaDie4TheGov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 619
Wow you must think im really dumb..ive tried that but all the songs come up gray..so i can't play them. But also next to my free space is a little lock that closed...is that there for you?
__________________

2001 Honda K-1 Accord Attack
GonnaDie4TheGov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 03:06 AM   #5
enron fever
CF Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by GonnaDie4TheGov
Wow you must think im really dumb..ive tried that but all the songs come up gray..so i can't play them. But also next to my free space is a little lock that closed...is that there for you?
open itunes, go to Preferences -> ipod -> Manually manage songs and playlists. now you can play music from the ipod through itunes without loading the music onto your machine. if you have ITMS songs, you will still have to authorize the laptop, however.
__________________
enron fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 03:43 AM   #6
GonnaDie4TheGov
CF's Only Jersey Boy
 
GonnaDie4TheGov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 619
I love you...that worked!!

Amazing how the one thing i didn't hit is the thing that did it
__________________

2001 Honda K-1 Accord Attack
GonnaDie4TheGov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2005, 04:41 AM   #7
enron fever
CF Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 356
joo welcome.
__________________
enron fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 11:41 PM   #8
boothe
CF Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: DC
Posts: 321
Glad you got it figured out, I can be pretty dense with my iPod too! Small electronics...
boothe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 12:24 AM   #9
enron fever
CF Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 356
you ever need help with that kind of stuff, lemme know. i'm an apple zealot at heart
__________________
enron fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 01:27 AM   #10
Voda48
CF Lance Fan
 
Voda48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,282
You could also use the ipod as a mass storage device as well. That way if you ever wanted to put those songs on your laptop you could, or if you ever wanted to store anything else (like photos or word docs)
__________________
Here's my Website: Voda's Webpage It is in dire need of updating.
Voda48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.