Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2005, 04:49 AM   #1
whiteboy23
CF Newbie
 
whiteboy23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 44
question about speakers

hello i know a bit about speakers but i just want to clear a thing up because my friend doesnt believe me so heres the question, if i buy new, aftermarket speakers for the front dash or rear deck, do i have to buy brand new speaker wire and brackets for them??by the way, i have a 1988 chevy caprice classic brougham V8 305 5.0L.
whiteboy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2005, 04:59 AM   #2
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy23
hello i know a bit about speakers but i just want to clear a thing up because my friend doesnt believe me so heres the question, if i buy new, aftermarket speakers for the front dash or rear deck, do i have to buy brand new speaker wire and brackets for them??by the way, i have a 1988 chevy caprice classic brougham V8 305 5.0L.

No...
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2005, 05:04 AM   #3
BMWGuru
CF Newbie
 
BMWGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 22
that's big negative.
__________________
BMWGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2005, 11:51 PM   #4
whiteboy23
CF Newbie
 
whiteboy23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWGuru
that's big negative.
thanks...so if i dont have to buy new speaker wire, do i have to buy an adapter or anything?so i just take out the stock speakers and put aftermarket speakers in and dont have to worry about anything?
whiteboy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2005, 05:17 PM   #5
thunderbird1100
CF dB-o-holic
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LSU Campus
Posts: 3,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy23
thanks...so if i dont have to buy new speaker wire, do i have to buy an adapter or anything?so i just take out the stock speakers and put aftermarket speakers in and dont have to worry about anything?

Usually yes, you dont have to worry about it assuming you buy the same size speakers to replace the stockers.
__________________
1990 Honda Accord LX Sedan
Mileage Ticker: 232,400 Miles
Stereo Mods: Coming soon...

~Blow your mind~

thunderbird1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2005, 10:48 PM   #6
whiteboy23
CF Newbie
 
whiteboy23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by thunderbird1100
Usually yes, you dont have to worry about it assuming you buy the same size speakers to replace the stockers.

thanks yo. i was going to buy replacement front dash 4x6's and they are pioneer and the rear deck 6x9's are pioneer too i got a sony cdx-m600 cd player and a jlw3 12" with a cheap virtual reality sound labs 250 one channel amp with schoche wiring kit.it sounds great considering that its only one twelve inch subwoofer but it just needs more voice sound because all i can mostly hear right now is the bass.
whiteboy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2005, 11:27 PM   #7
88GrandPrixSE
CF Freak
 
88GrandPrixSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Regina, Sask., Canada
Posts: 581
Stock speakers usually have a special adaptor (for the wire). You have to cut that adaptor off and put the normal connectors on it.

Generally the speaker will just drop into place if it's the same size, but not always.
__________________
88GrandPrixSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2005, 06:46 PM   #8
Sniper1
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bellevue, Washington
Posts: 49
Wires

You do need to replace the wires for the new speakers if you are puting in big subs. You would need to get an amp and box then get a thicker gadge of wire for the new subs two handle the amount of amp flow.
Sniper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2005, 11:46 PM   #9
whiteboy23
CF Newbie
 
whiteboy23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper1
You do need to replace the wires for the new speakers if you are puting in big subs. You would need to get an amp and box then get a thicker gadge of wire for the new subs two handle the amount of amp flow.

no no i already have a sub with and amp and everything. my stereo can handle 50 watts TIMES 4.

im just putting in these little 20 watt RMS pioneer 4X6's

http://www.cardomain.com/item/PIOTSG4640R?vq_id=none

and im going to put in this pair of 6X9's that are only 60 watt RMS:

http://www.cardomain.com/item/PIOTSA6960R?vq_id=none

all i wanted to know is if i had to buy new speaker wire for these speakers. i really dont want to buy new speaker wire because it is going to be wayyy to much work and i dont want to go to a professional because it is too much money.
__________________
Dicken's Cider...say it slow

Last edited by whiteboy23 : 03-14-2005 at 11:52 PM.
whiteboy23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 06:47 PM   #10
Sniper1
CF Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bellevue, Washington
Posts: 49
Talking

Oh ok then you should be fine on wire. but you should make sure that the radio can handle the watts that you are putting out on all your speakers put togeather.
Sniper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.