Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2005, 02:13 AM   #1
jdubya
CF Enthusiast
 
jdubya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: MO
Posts: 122
Talking Dyno question

Can someone please inform me on what a Dyno is, and how it is used?

THANKS A LOT!
JESSE
__________________

PRELUDE POWER!

Last edited by jdubya : 03-15-2005 at 02:21 AM.
jdubya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 02:26 AM   #2
NISSANSPDR
and the Revolution
 
NISSANSPDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 591
dynamometer: An electric or hydraulic machine used to measure the actual engine horsepower output and torque. An engine dynamometer measures horsepower at the crankshaft and a chassis dynamometer measures horsepower output at the wheels
__________________
Yours truly,
Gabriel
NISSANSPDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 03:28 AM   #3
Zalight
Who's house? Runs house.
 
Zalight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 2,264
Heres a couple images of a chasis dyno:



And an engine dyno:

__________________
1999 BMW ///M3
Zalight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 04:57 AM   #4
88GrandPrixSE
CF Freak
 
88GrandPrixSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Regina, Sask., Canada
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by NISSANSPDR
dynamometer: An electric or hydraulic machine used to measure the actual engine horsepower output and torque. An engine dynamometer measures horsepower at the crankshaft and a chassis dynamometer measures horsepower output at the wheels

Wrong. A dyno measures torque and torque only.

HP is acquired mathematically. Torque X RPM / 5252 = HP (Though that's just general, the equation doesn't work for EVERY vehicle, but works for most.)

Take my 2.8 for instence:

160lbs @ 3600

160 X 3600 / 5252 = 109.67hp @ 3600RPM

The dyno is doing this test all the way through so, every time torque increases or decreses it does this equation and eventually find peak HP. Which should be 130 @ 4800 for that motor.

"x" X 4800 / 5252 = 130
.91x = 130
130/.91 = 142

so it makes 142lbs @ 4800 RPM Now to verify that because my math skills are somewhat lacking...

142 X 4800 / 5252 = 130
129.77 = 130 (Correct, i rounded it off in the earlier equation)

So that's how you find out power at certain RPMs.
__________________

Last edited by 88GrandPrixSE : 03-15-2005 at 05:18 AM.
88GrandPrixSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 05:37 AM   #5
NISSANSPDR
and the Revolution
 
NISSANSPDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by 88GrandPrixSE
Wrong. A dyno measures torque and torque only.

.

I said that...

Quote:
to measure the actual engine horsepower output and torque
__________________
Yours truly,
Gabriel
NISSANSPDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 02:44 PM   #6
88GrandPrixSE
CF Freak
 
88GrandPrixSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Regina, Sask., Canada
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by NISSANSPDR
I said that...

Though they don't measure horsepower...
__________________
88GrandPrixSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 04:09 PM   #7
Inygknok
El del Supra
 
Inygknok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by 88GrandPrixSE
Though they don't measure horsepower...


they do actually, they do it all by themselves, hence why they are computers, to do everything man is too lazy to do by himself.
__________________


Supra: To surpass or go beyond.
Inygknok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 04:58 PM   #8
DodgeRida67
Banned
 
DodgeRida67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jackson, Georgia
Posts: 2,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inygknok
they do actually, they do it all by themselves, hence why they are computers, to do everything man is too lazy to do by himself.

Or it would be just plain stupid to grab a pen and peice of paper when it can be done in a few millionths of a second by a computer.


88GrandPrixSE is pretty much right. They don't directly measure horsepower. Like he said, it's calculated by torque & rpm.
DodgeRida67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 06:32 PM   #9
NISSANSPDR
and the Revolution
 
NISSANSPDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 591
I mean what dyno doesnt have a computer next to it?
__________________
Yours truly,
Gabriel
NISSANSPDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.