Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-12-2005, 08:16 PM   #1
BeemerLover
CF Newbie

Cool Xenon Lights

i have a 1995 bmw 318is. like they originally came with the factory lights which are yellow. and like while driving down the rode i saw this new bmw that has really really BRIGHT lights so i decided to go to pepboys to buy some xenon lights. They were 55W which are higher than my original factory lights. but then when installed, it doesn't shine too far. like if i turn on my fog lights, that shines even further. i dunno if i did something wrong, or is it just my car? do i have to install some higher power thingy to power up the light bulbs? i'm just a college student in nor cal messin with my car right now. thanks, any help will do
BeemerLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 05:44 AM   #2
srober32
CF Addict

Probably the reflectors have something to do with it.
Old 04-13-2005, 05:49 AM   #3
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer

reflectors or the covers themselves...if the cover is yellowed from UV, that would easily dim out the lights....

as a side note.....are xenon bulbs a legal mod where you live?......because ive seen tickets for those bulbs and they are not cheap(or it could just be that the vehicular laws are anal/cops are anal where i live)
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 07:31 AM   #4
BeemerLover
CF Newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgerforlife
reflectors or the covers themselves...if the cover is yellowed from UV, that would easily dim out the lights....

as a side note.....are xenon bulbs a legal mod where you live?......because ive seen tickets for those bulbs and they are not cheap(or it could just be that the vehicular laws are anal/cops are anal where i live)