Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-26-2005, 06:56 AM   #1
F5inter
CF Newbie

Hi i'm new to Cars A lil help

Hi i'm currently 17 and i'm looking forward to becoming an Automotive Technician (repairs) i'm wondering how hard is it to repair a broken car so for example cars that are considered total loss. I was thinking of buying broken cars to repair and sell them out again and gainign $2000 profit or so considering buying and repairing the car of a budget $1000
F5inter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 02:23 PM   #2
ChrisV
The Big Meaney

You really have to have an eye for what kinds of cars can carry a decent price even with a salvage title, and what damage is considered a total loss, but doesn't actually make the car structurally unsound.

You'll never make a lot of money off of rebuilding cars this way, as you have to disclose that they were damged and document the repairs. The market for them is VERY limited, as resale is low, and insurance for them can sometimes be higher. The appeal of salvage title cars is the fact that they cost the buyer thousands less than the same car with a clean title.

And since every repair is going to be different (some require a lot of mechanical work, others require a lot of bodywork), it's best to work on cars for a while before even attempting to do this, as you really have to have an innate fel for what you're doing to do this well. Yes, it can be that hard.