Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Vehicle Specific > Domestic Cars
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2005, 02:13 AM   #1
6000LE
Banned
 
6000LE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 832
CD deck wont connect

I got a cd player for the 6000 LE from my brother
as a few of you know that have taken the radio out, there is a different plug than that on the modern cd players
anyone got suggestions
6000LE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 03:11 AM   #2
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer
 
dodgerforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farm in Saskatchewan...
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6000LE
I got a cd player for the 6000 LE from my brother
as a few of you know that have taken the radio out, there is a different plug than that on the modern cd players
anyone got suggestions


go to your local car audio store(a place that has specializes in car audio, not some big box store) and get the wiring harness for it.
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 04:19 AM   #3
car_crazy89
Part Time CFer
 
car_crazy89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,849
You can always do as my dad did with our piece of crap.. i mean car, j/k. Just try to sort out what each wire is for (l.r speaker, r.r speaker, and so on) and just use the wires you need (cheap way out lol). I'd probably stick with trying to find a harness first though.
__________________

"Noone dies a virgin, life screws us all"
car_crazy89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 07:27 AM   #4
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer
 
dodgerforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farm in Saskatchewan...
Posts: 2,202
(pssst! car_crazy! from the sounds of it, they don't seem like they could really do that to well...)

no offense 6000LE
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 12:42 PM   #5
jarvisx2000
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Trenton, Ontario
Posts: 153
I am sure he could figure it out, if he still has the stock radio there is usually a diagram on it telling you which colour wire is for what. The new cd player he bought should have it in the manual or on the deck itself.
jarvisx2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 02:12 PM   #6
6000LE
Banned
 
6000LE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarvisx2000
I am sure he could figure it out, if he still has the stock radio there is usually a diagram on it telling you which colour wire is for what. The new cd player he bought should have it in the manual or on the deck itself.
Is this harness you are talking about something that swiches from one kind of wire to another. Sort of like an extention cord, that also changes the plug correct?..thats what I thought of doing
Here is the deck and the back of it. Il take some pictures of the radio if i wana take it apart again.


Also here is an Image of the back with the wires plugged in. My bro totalled his car, and he took this out. He didnt need one for his new car because he already had a factory one installed.

Last edited by 6000LE : 05-27-2005 at 02:23 PM.
6000LE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 02:13 PM   #7
jarvisx2000
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Trenton, Ontario
Posts: 153
Do you have the wiring harness that comes out of the stereo? or is that all you have?
jarvisx2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 02:24 PM   #8
6000LE
Banned
 
6000LE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarvisx2000
Do you have the wiring harness that comes out of the stereo? or is that all you have?
There is a wire coming from the car thats connected to the factory radio
and there is a input in the headunit
but the 2 dont fit together
I need some sort of Link or sometihng.
6000LE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 02:26 PM   #9
6000LE
Banned
 
6000LE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 832
Also there is another thick black wire coming form the car to the factory radio. It might be a ground or a power so im not sure. I really wana consult a professional before i start cutting any wires if it gets to that extreme. I didnt seem to look for a wiring diagram but im sure that its there. Il take a look.
6000LE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 02:28 PM   #10
jarvisx2000
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Trenton, Ontario
Posts: 153
What I am talking about is bypassing the connector that comes from the car, so cut it out, then just connect the correct wires together, so you wouldnt need to buy linkage.
jarvisx2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 02:31 PM   #11
6000LE
Banned
 
6000LE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarvisx2000
What I am talking about is bypassing the connector that comes from the car, so cut it out, then just connect the correct wires together, so you wouldnt need to buy linkage.
I asked my grandfather who is like worked for the russian NASA and he said that sometihng might short and i can just alltogether blow the battery, fusebox, or even the Headunit. I dont need to lose my car over this but il see. If i go to a professional and he says that I can cut them, Then cut i will. Extreme situations call for extreme measures
6000LE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 02:33 PM   #12
jarvisx2000
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Trenton, Ontario
Posts: 153
I dont see how your going to wreck anything, I have done it in lots of cars, there is a ground, a power, constant power, then 2 wires for each speaker and the antanae.
jarvisx2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 02:44 PM   #13
6000LE
Banned
 
6000LE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarvisx2000
I dont see how your going to wreck anything, I have done it in lots of cars, there is a ground, a power, constant power, then 2 wires for each speaker and the antanae.
In my new Headunit I have a
blue with white stripe
blue with black stripe
white
white with black stripe
red
yellow
black
green
greeen with black
green with some numbers on it
i tihnk there are more
but i am colorblind
lol
6000LE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 02:48 PM   #14
jarvisx2000
CF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Trenton, Ontario
Posts: 153
blue with white stripe
blue with black stripe
white
white with black stripe
red
yellow
black
green
greeen with black
green with some numbers on it

red is power and yellow is constant power, black is ground, and the rest are speakers, I am pretty sure about that, you can always double check online in a search engine
jarvisx2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 02:57 PM   #15
6000LE
Banned
 
6000LE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by jarvisx2000
blue with white stripe
blue with black stripe
white
white with black stripe
red
yellow
black
green
greeen with black
green with some numbers on it

red is power and yellow is constant power, black is ground, and the rest are speakers, I am pretty sure about that, you can always double check online in a search engine

here is the diagram
BLUE WITH WHITE LINE- REMOTE (MAX 200mA)
YELLOW- BATTERY
RED- ACCESORY
BLACK- GROUND
WHITE- FRONT SP.Lch (+)
WHITE WITH BLACK LINE- FRONT SP.Lch (-)
GREEN- REAR SP.Lch (+)
GREEN WITH BLACK LINE- REAR SP.Lch (-)
GRAY- FRONT SP.Rch (+)
GRAY WITH BLACK LINE- REAR SP.Rch (-)
PURPLE- REAR SP.rch (+)
PURPLE WITH BLACK LINE- REAR SP.Rch (-)
"DO NOT CONNECT SPEAKER NEGATIVE (-) LEADS TOGETHER OR TO CHASSIS GROUND

Thats the thing on the black
6000LE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.