Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > Technical Discussions > Repairs & Maintenance
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread

Old 06-29-2005, 07:32 AM   #1
weaponX
CF Newbie

Millwrighting Relating To Auto Mechanics

I just started as a millwright/industrial mechanic apprentice and I was wondering how well does the mechanical skills of a millwright relate to auto mechanics. I dont mean to find a job as an auto mechanic, but to do something like restoring/modifying/building cars as a hobby. Its something I have been interested in attempting but havent actually had the money or space to actually do.
Old 06-29-2005, 07:47 PM   #2
ppauley
CF Newbie

those two fields are much different, i suggest just jumping in on the car and learn by experience, i did now i have a masters in GM, could have in Ford but refused, and ASE master
ppauley/cobra freek
Old 06-29-2005, 08:03 PM   #3
weaponX
CF Newbie

Ok so how difficult would it be for me to learn to do being someone with experience working on industrial machinery and who is generally mechanically inclined but who has no actual automotive experience? should I go ahead and buy a car I want to fix or just buy some piece of junk I dont care about first and can expect to screw up?
also are there any specific books or manuals that would be of value in learning to do this? it will probably be at least a year before I even start so I have some time to research

Last edited by weaponX : 06-29-2005 at 08:07 PM.
Old 07-01-2005, 08:26 PM   #4
tbaxleyjr
CF Extraordinaire

some millwright skills would apply to auto mechanics.

Autorepair involves a number of skills which a good mechanic is a multi-skilled person. Where a millwright would be weak is in the area of troubleshooting engine control systems which in some industrial facilities falls under the electricians or instrument mechanics. Much engine rebuild work requires machine shop skills.
Old 07-01-2005, 11:20 PM   #5
dodger65
I know more than Wally...

Quote: