Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2005, 05:22 PM   #1
FordFromHell351
Banned
 
FordFromHell351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 854
Old School Stereo System - 1985 Pioneer CS-G201

I have a 1985 Pioneer GS-G201 stereo system. My dad bought it used in 1988 for $400 and it still sounds great today. It also has a JVC XL-V111 CD player w/ High Precision 3 Beam pickups (They just dont make them like that anymore )
My question is: There is a little bit of a staticy sound coming through one of the speakers. Does anyone know what this could be? Ive just replaced the speaker cords. And I dont know what it would be. Could someone please help me out?
FordFromHell351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 07:01 PM   #2
Satty101
CF's L body Freak
 
Satty101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado Springs CO
Posts: 2,865
Reception from the antennea could be getting screwed up by something. that or the speakers are just so old they are starting to lose their functioning ability and start to sound metallicy. My car speakers are like that. Just try messing around with the anttennea a little bit. then check the speakers.


My
__________________
My cars:

1999 Chevrolet Camaro SS (PC'd)
1994 Chevrolet Beretta Z26 Q4 (W41 M90'd)
2004 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 (4WD)

My wife's cars:

1971 Dodge Charger SE (stock and original 383 auto)
2004 Subaru Impreza WRX (kid-hauler)
Satty101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 08:06 PM   #3
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer
 
dodgerforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farm in Saskatchewan...
Posts: 2,202
hmm, sounds like the amp connections are either dirty, or some soldering is falling apart.

I am a huge fan of vintage equipment, and gone through a lot of it...


An old Sansui reciever(60's), has that problem quite a bit(soldering falling apart), on the speaker selector switch, making one pair of speakers really staticy. Every five or six years, we take it into a stereo repair shop, where they A)offer us 600$ for it, and B) fix the soldering.

I have an old Kenwood Amplifier that has no problems whatsoever, one of my buddies is borrowing it right now...

Right now, I'm listening to music on an 70's Yamaha Amp(CA-610), and I can tell the soldering on the volume dial is either going, or its dirty(haven't looked at it yet), because it will be staticy, or one speaker will cut out, until I move the knob a bit, and it fixes itself.


My end recommendation - if you don't feel comfortable taking it apart, but love the stereo, take it down to a reputable stereo repair shop in your area, and have the full service done to it. The 50 or 60$ that you'll spend on a full service will definitely be worth it!
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005, 01:36 AM   #4
SlipKnoT
The Ultimate Maggot
 
SlipKnoT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 1,066
MY DAD HAS THE EXACT SAME STEREO!!! We had that same problem, and the magnets on the back of the speakers had gotten a little dust caked. Try looking at that as well as the connections, like dodgerforlife has mentioned
__________________
1990 Plymouth Laser RS Turbo [Projekt Redline]
Mods: Airbox delete w/ K&N cone, hollowed cat, Fidanza short throw.
HOW FAST!?...we'll find out this summer.

SlipKnoT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005, 04:20 AM   #5
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer
 
dodgerforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farm in Saskatchewan...
Posts: 2,202
kinda confused as to how dust on the magnet would cause static.......please explain that one....
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005, 03:24 PM   #6
FordFromHell351
Banned
 
FordFromHell351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgerforlife
kinda confused as to how dust on the magnet would cause static.......please explain that one....
It would be messing with the older connections.
FordFromHell351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005, 07:31 PM   #7
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer
 
dodgerforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farm in Saskatchewan...
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by FordFromHell351
It would be messing with the older connections.


errr dust has no properties that would do that...and he said it was just caked on the magnet....
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 12:29 AM   #8
FordFromHell351
Banned
 
FordFromHell351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgerforlife
errr dust has no properties that would do that...and he said it was just caked on the magnet....
Well, doesnt matter anyway. I checked it, it doesnt have any dust on it.....
I think Im going to re-do all the connections. Im also going to check the power from my amp...I think it might be getting weak. It is 22 years old.
FordFromHell351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 12:42 AM   #9
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer
 
dodgerforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farm in Saskatchewan...
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by FordFromHell351
Well, doesnt matter anyway. I checked it, it doesnt have any dust on it.....
I think Im going to re-do all the connections. Im also going to check the power from my amp...I think it might be getting weak. It is 22 years old.

like i said, could be the soldering....worth looking at that.

do you mean the power supply?...


and age doesnt matter take a look at the pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg stereo.jpg (63.1 KB, 6 views)
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 12:49 AM   #10
FordFromHell351
Banned
 
FordFromHell351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 854
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgerforlife
like i said, could be the soldering....worth looking at that.

do you mean the power supply?...


and age doesnt matter take a look at the pic
Is that yours? Thats pretty nice. They dont make stereos like they used to. My stereo uses a Linear amp. Which, unfourtunatly, they no longer make. Everything now days is amplified by a damn ICU chip.
FordFromHell351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 02:03 AM   #11
dodgerforlife
Resident CF Farmer
 
dodgerforlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Farm in Saskatchewan...
Posts: 2,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by FordFromHell351
Is that yours? Thats pretty nice. They dont make stereos like they used to. My stereo uses a Linear amp. Which, unfourtunatly, they no longer make. Everything now days is amplified by a damn ICU chip.

I do belive mine is solid state. I have the rarer version of the 610 series - there is a 610 and 610II - the 610 being rarer

I also have the matching CT-410 tuner
dodgerforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2011 Car Forums. All rights reserved.