Car Forums  

Go Back   Car Forums > General Discussions > General Chat
FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-02-2005, 03:38 AM   #1
Timsta
CF Newbie

A couple of Car Questions

A couple of car questions, as I said before I am a complete newbie, just about to get a 2002 nissan sentra and i wanna trick it out throughout the next 2 years...

I would really appreciate those who would be williing to explain the significance of these parts, etc. I'm warning you again, lol, i know nothing.

1. What's the whole deal with Turbo?
2. What is a drivetrain?
3. What is the benefit of having a bigger exhaust pipe, and what exactly is the whole exhaust system
4. What, exactly, is the component that makes an engine sound good (not loud and crappy like old cars, but loud and nice like in well tuned cars i guess)

thats it for now... i'm telling you there will be more and more embarassing questions as well Thanks
Old 08-02-2005, 03:41 AM   #2
93ranger
Banned

1. A turbo is something that sucks in a lot of air (in laymens terms) and creates a lot of power

2. Depends on the drivetrain

3. A bigger exhaust is good because you let the gases out faster

4. Don't understand the question?
93ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2005, 03:47 AM   #3
car_crazy89
Part Time CFer

Quote:
Originally Posted by 93ranger
1. A turbo is something that sucks in a lot of air (in laymens terms) and creates a lot of power

2. Depends on the drivetrain

3. A bigger exhaust is good because you let the gases out faster

4. Don't understand the question?
By number 2. i think she means what parts does the 'drivertrain' consist of? And number 4. would have a varying opinion, cause some might argue that they like the sound of the old V8's (as i do) and some like the the 'hum' or 'buzz' lol of the newer i4's.

"Noone dies a virgin, life screws us all"
car_crazy89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2005, 03:48 AM   #4
adamc44
CF Freak